We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and breezy”
Review of Bluff Shoal Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluff Shoal Motel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
chapel hill nc
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“clean and breezy”
Reviewed 24 April 2008

We were first off the ferry and the owner offered us the newly remodeled apartment at the back for a great rate. 2 bdrms, 1 bath (clean enough to eat off), full kitchen, living room and screened in porch. Very clean, he even washes the bedspreads. Free bikes and a dock on Silver Lake with adirondack chairs. We're going back end of this month for another stay. Couldn't beat the location with a stick.

  • Liked — cleanliness, location, service
  • Disliked — not a great view from the screened in porch
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank germphobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    19
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
29
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2007

Bluff Shoal is an older, but meticulously maintained motel right on Silver Lake Harbor. There are only about 7 rooms, and they are basic motel rooms, but the rooms and grounds were spotless and very comfortable. We were there in the off-season, and arrived on the first ferry from Cedar Island. We weren't sure of their check-in time, so stopped in to inquire on our way to lunch. We were pleasantly surprised when we were told our room was already cleaned and we could check in. There are comfortable chairs on the front porch, so you can relax and watch either the streetside or the waterfront. The prices are surprisingly reasonable, too. Very relaxing place, most hospitable hosts, and one of the cleanest motel rooms we've ever stayed in.

  • Liked — Comfortable atmosphere
  • Disliked — The tree in the parking lot!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasSailorGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

We had a fantastic 5 days at the Bluff Shoal. It's absolutely spotless, and has an excellent location right in Ocracoke Village. The service we received was top-notch. It has a few amenities that elevate it above similar locations, particularly its location right on the harbor with a deck for guests to use. There's also coffee (though not a full breakfast) in the mornings and bikes for guests to use. The motel's small size allowed for privacy. Prices are affordable even in high season. Highly recommended!!

  • Liked — Small size and friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Low-tech nature was fine for our vacation, but perhaps not for everyone.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxy_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2005

Stayed at the Bluff Shoal October 9-11. Found rooms to be clean and comfortable. It is a typical older motel on Ocracoke, small rooms with very few amenites, but affordable and in a great location with a porch that runs the enire length of the motel with chairs for sitting. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank arbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 August 2002

The location is perfect, right in the heart of the village. Walking distance to anything. Quiet with a small pier and deck right on the bay. The nature of the island's isolation does not cause security concerns but if this hotel was in a bad area I would not give it a high mark for security. It was clean and reasonably priced. Air conditioner worked well. I only had two complaints: Outdoor lighting illuminated the room all night which could easily be fixed with thicker curtains and the water pressure was always low and at times barely a trickle. Other than those problems I think the room was well worth the money and an unbeatable location.

Helpful?
34 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
28.8 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
133 reviews
0.4 km away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#3 of 7 in Ocracoke
161 reviews
29.4 km away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 km away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
28.4 km away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#11 of 16 in Hatteras Island
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Ocracoke

Been to Bluff Shoal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff Shoal Motel

Property: Bluff Shoal Motel
Address: 306 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price range (per night): $95 - $152
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Bluff Shoal Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing