We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf”

Ocean Ridge Plantation
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This resort and residential complex features the four legendary "Big Cats" Courses - Panther's Run, Lion's Paw, Tiger's Eye and Leopard's Chase - each of which has won world-wide critical acclaim and is renowned for their dramatic design features and challenging level of play. Come Chase Birdies with The Big Cats Today!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We were booked into panthers run and lions paw golf courses this week for our golf trip. Friendly staff and interesting layout on both coursesBUT, the greens were awful!! The greens are all damaged and were covered with blue fertilizer and covered with sprouts, you could not make a put, I would not recommend playing there until the greens recover.

1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Ocean Ridge Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our courses. You are correct, the bermuda greens in our area took a beating from the exceptionally harsh weather conditions this past winter and are now just beginning to recover. Fortunately the very nice weather of the past several days has already started the healing process. Assuming spring has finally sprung for good, we fully expect the bermuda greens to improve daily form this point forward and to be in very good condition again soon. We apologize that your experience was not more satisfactory on this visit and vow to take whatever steps possible to ensure all The Big Cats courses are in exceptional condition going forward. We plan to attend and participate in a special seminar being held this summer by the Myrtle Beach Area Golf Course Owners Association, on how to deal with extreme weather conditions such as we experienced this past winter. This problem has been so widespread in our region that the MBAGCOA has arranged for top agronomists from NC State and Clemson to come in and work with the course superintendents to establish a set of "best practices" to help alleviate similar issues in the future. This winter was the coldest on record in the past 38 years for our region and hopefully it will be another 38 years before we have to deal with anything like this again, but we plan to be prepared just in case! Thank you again and we hope you will come back and give The Big Cats another opportunity to better meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

The course all the way from the Tee Box to the Greens was a complete travesty. They had not done any maintenance to the bunkers, fairways, or greens. The tee boxes were overgrown with weeds, the fairways were covered in weeds and even with a little rain the day before more than 1/2 the holes were unplayable due to water. Everything from a rude staff rushing us out ASAP to our tee time, to not seeing a drink cart for 9 holes while out there combined with the terrible course conditions made this easily the worse golfing experience I have ever had. DO NOT GO HERE.

4  Thank drasa1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

There are four terrific golf courses and good practice area. Also there are beautiful homes. It also has a beautiful pool and work out gym.

2  Thank rwillauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We have a beautiful community. A great POA and a developer that is sucking us dry. Do not come here. The courses are good designes but the developer is sucking us dry! There are a lot of courses in the area that you will be happier with. At some point our developer will recognize he has to reinvest to be profitibable. So far the yankees have not figures this out, you are paying a premium for a bad muni!

4  Thank 49406Re_Act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Ocean Ridge Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

In reading your review, I am very much concerned and would like to help in any way I can. Please contact me directly at blong@oceanridge.com to discuss your specific comments and issues regarding the Big Cats Courses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Paid full fare for Panthers Run, a course that used to be worth that premium. Unfortunately from nearly start to finish a poor experience now. The men who handled our bags to the carts were downright unwelcoming, and provided a thoroughly confusing experience with a surly attitude. Even calling in to reserve a time was less than pleasant with the clubhouse seeming to be doing us a favor. While I recognize this is high season, people still have choices, and this course will not be mine the next time in Myrtle, not my friends. Course itself is poorly kept -in reality we should have asked for a refund with rampant Poa Annua on bumpy greens, half mown fairways and teeboxes that haven't been touched in a decade by a lawn mower. I normally do not go out of my way to post a review like this - but this really was a mess of a day and I want to make sure that other golf players consider a local $40 muni before signing up for this. At least there the people will be friendly.

3  Thank rbestercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Ocean Ridge Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

I sincerely apologize for your unsatisfactory experience. I saw your review of Panther's Run and asked you some follow up questions there, but I see they have already been answered here in your review of Ocean Ridge Plantation. I assure you we will address the specific issues you mentioned here immediately and do everything in our power to improve in those areas. Regarding the Poa Annua, there has definitely been an outbreak in this region, as evidenced by the greens at Augusta National this year during the Masters tournament. In the past few week, we have applied multiple applications of growth inhibitor and selective herbicides to address this issue and we will continue to do so until the Poa is eradicated. It is a slow process because anything that will kill Poa Annua is also not very good for the MiniVerde either, so we have to be deliberate in our approach. But we expect this to be completely under control soon. I assure you the tees are mowed in rotation and, while not mowed every day, they go no more than 3-4 days between mowings, at the very most, but I will investigate to make sure something outside that cycle did not occur during your visit last week. Course conditions vary from week to week, even day to day, depending on many factors, a lot of which are beyond our control, with the most notable being the weather. For example, if an area is still wet from a recent heavy rain when the fairway mowers come through, they may have to skip that area until it dries up. With that being said, we certainly want our courses to be in the best shape possible every day and apologize that this was not the case on the day you played. As for the lack of customer service you described, this is the most disturbing of all, because that is something we CAN control every day. I will get with our management staff and we will address this matter immediately. Again, we apologize we did not live up to your expectations on this visit and we will do everything we can to earn your business again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Ridge Plantation also viewed

 
Shallotte, North Carolina Coast
Shallotte, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Ocean Ridge Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing