We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,026)
Filter reviews
2,026 results
Traveller rating
1,443
463
94
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,443
463
94
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south building main building ocean front the outer banks loft room continental breakfast outdoor pool quiche waffles fresh fruit wonderful hotel hotel in nags head off season an ocean view room sound of the waves biscuits and gravy hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
862 - 867 of 2,026 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Very spacious room on top floor of south building with nice view of ocean and sound. Location was great, a little less traffic in this area, but still close to everything. Ample parking and well kept boardwalks and grounds made for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gdegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We just returned from our annual week on the Outer Banks. We have stayed At Surf Side many time and I must say this is the best motel on the beach. This motel is always very clean and I don't mean for a beach motel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The lady who clean rooms on the third floor does a wonderful job. The breakfast has a good verity and always good. We will see you again next June.

Room Tip: Book in the main building
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Celebrating anniversary. Spent exra for honeymoon suite. Comfortable bed. 2 person jacuzzi. Oceanfront with beautiful views. Front and side balconies. Room very clean.Nicely decorated. Even had 2 upolstered chairs inside room but spent alot of time on balcony in very comfortable wooden chairs. Watched a beautiful sunrise from this 4th floor suite, Delicious hot breakfast, with appropraite choices, in breakfast room. Plenty of parking.. Staff friendly. Microwave and refrigerator in room.Hotel not new but appeared well maintained. Hotel quiet for restful sleep. Has pool but we did not use it. Easy walk out to beach on walking deck. They provide wine and snack social we did not attend.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneRobyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn R, General Manager at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and hope you will find an opportunity to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

You can't beat the location of this hotel. We were in the South building facing the ocean. The view was amazing. The only thing that would have made our stay better would have been a softer bed. We will definitely make this our first choice for staying in OBX.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Crissyh97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn R, General Manager at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thank you for your recent stay and never hesitate to ask us for anything while you are here. We actually can provide pillow toppers for those of us that like our beds softer. We like to strive to make everyone's stay the best we can and it's easier to do if we know while your here. Let's us know if you decide to book here again and we'll have it ready for you when you arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

This was the best hotel experience I have ever had, from listening and helping me find a room that met my families expectations and our budget to the friendly and helpful support staff who cleaned our rooms. There were no hidden charges and the little things put this place at a 5 rating for us! The lemon water by the pool, the 24/7 fresh coffee in the lobby. The magnificent free breakfast each day, the clean rooms and ease of check in and out and many other small things is why we will return here for our next visit to the Outer banks!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GKV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn R, General Manager at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

We love hearing that thank you. Our guest feed back helps us to continue to improve and provide the very best experience possible. We looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews