We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
4
2
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
2
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews text message enjoyed our stay renovation beds obx beach
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

This place is clean. End of good review. It smells strongly of bleach. The bathroom is so tiny you are claustrophobic. It is way overpriced. The desk clerk disappeared for two hours with no replacement. We booked here because we were under the impression it was owned by Village Realty, but that is not right.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank marytgoodman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 October 2018

Sorry you did not have the experience you had hoped for and not one that is typical of a stay with us. The king rooms do have small bathrooms with showers only, our double queens have larger baths with tub/shower combo. We do close the front for a lunch break and staff are asked to walk and check the property and help attend to guests that may need help. A two hour break is not standard at all and will be looked into.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We usually rent a house in the OBX, but after an email announcement of the newly renovated property and summer specials, we decided to give it a try for a few days.
Firstly, the rooms are very nice. King beds (a little too firm for me), very beachy decor, kitchen area with fridge (w/ small freezer), microwave, Kuerig, and toaster oven. The bathroom is nice, but really small!
This is a motel, you can park right outside of your room. You can hang out and talk to your neighbor on the benches if you want. We enjoyed our stay and will visit again!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 473frede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 October 2018

Thank you for trying us out, we are happy that you enjoyed your room and stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

This motel has just been renovated and is beautiful inside. Just got back home from our vacation. Clean, great sunny decor, pool, across the street from the beach, nice courteous staff, courtesy quality large gas barbecue grills (used those alot). We had a great time. I can't find anything to complain about. It was great! Definitely coming back!! Would absolutely recommend!!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnnm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 October 2018

We are happy to hear you love the new look! Thank you for staying at the Tar Heel Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

I had stayed here in the past and liked the location. The new owners completely renovated the place. It is sweet. Disregard any reviews prior to this Summer of 2018. The owners walk around and checked on us every day to make sure we were enjoying our stay or if we needed anything. We had a room with 2 queen beds so our 2 little ones slept together and my wife and I in the other bed.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 October 2018

Thank you for your review, we look forward to having you back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

LOVED our stay at Tar Heel Motel!!! It was so fresh and new and modern and cute! Could skip to the beach it was so close! Staff were sooo friendly and accommodating! Would totally stay here again and recommend to friends and family:)
Big thanks to Rita at Tar Heels and Hannah from Colonial Inn for recommending the place.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank novakscott0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 October 2018

Thank you for choosing the Tar Heel Motel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews