We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Ocean Front property!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
10 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Nags Head, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
heinz5720...
Oakdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outer Banks Blue-Twisted Fish”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

I am sorry to say this but we were disappointed with The Twisted Fish property that we rented with Outer Banks Blue. Although there are very positive points with this rental such as location, the pool, the boardwalk to the beach and key less entry, the property has not been properly maintained. For the amount of money that we paid for this property we hoped that it would have been better. We have rented in the Outer Banks for over 30 years and have never been dissatisfied until we stayed at this house. One of the dryers were broken, a hot tub was not fixed until the day before we left There was a broken storm shutter that blocked the ocean view in the great room.. Some of the furniture was old and dirty and the bedding in the children’s room had holes in it. When we arrived, it looked like there had been a fraternity party around the pool area. There were beer cans, filled cigarette containers and broken furniture. Some employees of Outer Banks Blue did come to fix some of the issues but for almost $10,000 dollars you would think we would not even need to complain. This house could be fabulous if there was some regular maintenance done to it. We did send an email when we arrived home to the manager but never had a response.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location to the beach
Liked least: The general lack of maintenance.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C
North East, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DON'T RENT THROUGH OUTER BANKS BLUE!!!!!”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
5
people found this review helpful

DON’T RENT THROUGH OUTER BANKS BLUE

We were very dissatisfied with our stay. We have been coming to the Outer Banks most every year for many years and have never rented through Outer Banks Blue. This was the first time in all our years that we were disgusted by the conditions of the house.

All 7 bathrooms in the house had mold in the showers. It was all over the shower curtains and even in the tile baths. The toilets had feces marks left in them. Several of the bathrooms had broken handrails. One bathroom had the handrail rigged back in place and caused a person to fall because it gave way when it was being used. One toilet seat was broken and just sitting on top so when someone sat to use it the whole thing slid off. The shower heads themselves had mold/scum. We ended up buying cleaner and cleaning them up ourselves so we could even feel comfortable bathing.

The comforters in the rooms were so filthy I really think they could have stood up on their own and some of them smelled horrible. The furniture in the living area was also filthy. The arms on the blue chairs were stained black. The couches were so dirty many of the guests would sit on the wood chairs from the bar area to avoid putrid seating. We ended up laying sheets on the sofas so we could use them.

In the kitchen area there were fly traps hanging from the light fixtures with dead flies all over them. There were several large bugs that looked like roaches that came from one of the bedrooms and from the elevator.

The owners did step up in this case but OUTER BANKS BLUE BACIALLY SAID SORRY ABOUT YOUR LUCK!!!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jabtec
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A Great House”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013

We have rented Twisted Fish for six consecutive years and are all set for year seven. We have had as many as 25 family members travel into Nags Head. The furthest, my sister and husband who travels from California and looks forward to the Sun and Relaxation. The ammenities within the house are fantastic. There is plenty of space and all rooms are properly appointed. There is nothing better than waking early, grabbing a cup of coffee and sitting on the deck watching the sun rise. Just writing this review excits me in anticipation of our upcoming vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa
Reviewed 14 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing