We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Ive have stayed here quite often for business. Now that repairs to hurricane damage are just about finished, its an excellent hotel compared to others Ive stayed at there. All rooms I've been in are clean and in good repair. Beds are comfortable and clean. The free breakfast is pretty good with choices of eggs, sausage waffles and cereal and fruit etc, although personally I wish they had Frosted Flakes instead of the other choices. Staff has been both friendly and courteous, and responded to whatever requests Ive had, which hasnt been many.
Location cannot be beat. Its right on the beach, at the entrance to Hatteras National Seashore. You can drive to Hatteras lighthouse in only 45 min. Manteo is just 10 min, which has some good seafood restaurants. Jockeys Ridge is just down the street. All in all, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    157
    79
    62
    64
See reviews for
190
231
35
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
549 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Had a good evening here. Room was good for the evening we were there. Hotel has seen some use but everything worked and was clean. Breakfast was good, standard Comfort Inn fare, good selection. Help could have been more helpful on local restaurants and on making a room change. Would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Wanted to try this Comfort Inn out since prior we had stayed at the one on S. Virginia Dare Trail..... wish we would have gone back to that one. Granted, I understand that this one is going through a renovation; however, there really wasn't to much of a sign of this unless you call the dumpster out front a sign that they are renovationg. The room was ok, crappy radio, tv, etc. Regardless if they are renovating or not, I would think they would have a decent breakfast, the one at the other Comfort Inn was outstanding, food was cold, and not appealing at all. The orange juice was basically colored water. Overall, the stay was terrible. The staff was just there..... didn't go out of there way to be pleasant, etc. Will definately NOT be going back!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel all together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is not a luxury hotel, but it's OK for a weekend getaway if, like us, you only use the hotel to sleep in. We've stayed here for a few years because we use our rewards points for free nights' stays. We like the location and the view. The renovations have much improved the rooms; ours was clean and comfortable, but there aren't many amenities. Attention to detail is lacking; for example, I used the tea bags in the coffee area the first night but they were not replenished the next morning by housekeeping. The hotel was full for the holiday weekend and we couldn't get near the breakfast area, but we really wanted to go out for a big breakfast anyway. We always go in the off season, so I can't tell you about beach access, etc., but it is oceanfront. I wouldn't want to stay here for more than a night or two.

Room Tip: Views are great from the 5th floor, where we stayed, but the wait for the elevator was quite long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daffodil7404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We decided to risk an overnight stay despite reading many negative reviews, MY BAD... Hotel is in REALLY bad shape. However, they are in the beginning phase of a MAJOR overhaul. May make it back to being a 'standard' Comfort Inn once again.

Our 2nd floor room overlooking the parking lot. Came with a king bed and jacuzzi tub. The room itself was clean. Fridge compressor stayed on constantly and actually seemed to get louder as the night went on... Wireless internet was a plus.

Room Tip: If you risk staying before renovations are complete, at least request a higher floor room with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.6 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,494 reviews
15.8 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
458 reviews
13.9 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,122 reviews
11.4 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Property: Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Address: 8031 S Old Oregon Inlet Rd, Nags Head, NC 27959-9487
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price range (per night): $152 - $527
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing