We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AGONY AND ECSTACY”
other travellers have booked this property
View from loft bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from loft bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
View from loft bedroom
Fireplace in great room
Upstairs bedroom king bed
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
Shower in Master Bath
From Friends of Smoky Sunrise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Maggie Valley, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
calloused...
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“AGONY AND ECSTACY”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
6
people found this review helpful

My wife and I rented this place as a 50th anniversary getaway expecting a great time of hiking and exploring. Having been a frequent visitor to the Smoky's all my life I knew some vacation cabins are located very high up with spectacular views. But getting to them could be a unique experience. This one falls into that category.
We arrived late May on a pleasant drive through Maggie Valley which is a great place to visit in itself. We continued past for a couple of miles to our designated turn and at first the road was well paved and very scenic. The next turn however was a gravel road which quickly got steeper and steeper. Now I have explored the Smoky's back trails including fire roads which are usually unpaved and steep but I have to say none were like this. Hairpin turns, bumpy and loose gravel. There were a couple of times I had to go so slow the wheels started to spin because the gravel was so loose and the road so steep. The drive up was daunting to say the least.
We arrived at almost 4800 feet to a spectacular view of the valley below. The home was just as spectacular with a full glass wall to be able to take advantage of natures glory. The home was very well complimented and had plenty of room for a large family. There was everything imaginable for your convenience so there was no need to bring anything except food.
The cabin has a hot tub which was one of the first things we took advantage of except the view of course. The wifi, TV and telephone were all easy to use and there was even a printer as well. Everything worked, the, place was clean and comfortable.
There were a few neighbors below and above but due to the trees you really had to look to see them.
However, the drive up and the distance to any facilities was a little more than my wife and I wanted to endure so we cancelled our stay and chose to stay at a motel down in Maggie Valley. The drive up to the place was navigable and other than some wheels spinning in loose gravel we made it okay but to do that two or more times a day was more than we wanted.
The owner was most gracious and even refunded part of our money which was NOT expected. The description stated four wheel drive mandatory in winter and although not mandated for summer is recommended. That should tell you something about the road, but if it were more compacted my Camry would have been fine. It was every other road I explored this trip and some were pretty scary.
I have a video of the drive DOWN the mountain if anyone wants to see it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The full glass wall and hot tub
Liked least: The drive up.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred W
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay.”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have rented many vacation homes, but Smokey Sunrise is by far the nicest place we've stayed. Smokey Sunrise is as represented on the website. It's clean, has all the comforts of home, a beautiful view of Maggie Valley, and is just a few miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway. We enjoyed the local trails and best of all we were able to bring our pooch to share our vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: No negatives come to mind.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvester...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Smoky Sunrise was absolutely amazing. Starting with the drive up to the cabin from the main road, both routes we took were a true mountain experience. One route we first took from one of Maggie Valley's main roads to get to the cabin offered a longer meandering adventurous travel revealing many of the mountain's intricate beauties such as several mini waterfalls, numerous indigenous plant species, exciting glimpses of the wildlife and an overall sense of nature at its calmest. In its unique way, the driving atmosphere reminded me so much of my experiences living on the caribbean island of Montserrat. The second route we took when we left the cabin for home offered a shorter more direct but still scenic travel to another main road in Maggie Valley.

.....and the log cabin, my goodness! Everything seemed perfect from its location to all the accommodations it provided for our spectacular getaway. The cabin seemed to be perched perfectly high on a point along the mountainside overlooking the dense seasonally vegetated valley. Every moment we spent out on the deck was breathtaking. A natural and seemingly magical work of art, it really was.

The cabin provided an enclosed view of the valley as well through its large glass window sections that fully spanned from one corner of the house to the next and also from the floor to the ceiling. Waking up to this view in the mornings was a living dream. The atmosphere inside the cabin made it truly feel like a log cabin with amenities to sustain not only couples but an entire family.

We totally enjoyed our stay, the most relaxing and remote of our travels. Thank you Smoky Sunrise!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFreemon
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A rare getaway”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Smoky Sunrise is everything one looks for in a vacation rental. The home feels just like that - a home. It has everything a vacation rental should have - washer, dryer, great kitchen, comfortable beds, and much more. But, that's not the reason Smoky Sunrise stands apart from other mountain cabins...it is a MOUINTAIN cabin. It is a beautiful house perched high in the mountains overlooking Maggie Valley. Magnificent views, cool days, wildlife and quiet. The road to Smoky Sunrise is a steep gravel road, which is the normal way one gets to a high mountain cabin. The road is not difficult to drive, but like any mountain road one needs to be prepared. We have been coming to Maggie for many years and have finally found the perfect vacation rental.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry0402
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A beautiful cabin, but I would not recommend the location for anyone due to the condition of the roadways"”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We loved the cabin. It was clean and beautiful, as advertised. It is high up in the mountains and the views from the back porch are outstanding However, we could not get up the route we were given by the owner with our front wheel drive Honda mini van. Our trip was during the summer months, in July. The caretaker of the property had someone take their four wheeler, and show us a different path. Most of the roads were unpaved, and only one lane. Every trip out and back to the cabin was treacherous, and the roads are very dangerous. Because of the road conditions, I would not recommend this rental. Perhaps if you have a four wheel drive, it would be easier. However, the one way road is still very dangerous, with mirrors placed in various corners to presumably protect against head on collisions, and boulders placed along the edges. Carefully review the lease terms, particularly about the no refund policy if you cannot get to the cabin due to road conditions.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
We try to ensure that our guests are warned in advance that 4-wheel drive is strongly recommended. This is the first guest in 15 years of rentals that says they could not get up the road during summer months. Prior experience with mountain roads is strongly recommended and I will update my description to reflect this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing