We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk(Banner Elk)(Great Value!)
USD 111*
USD 101*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little Main Street Inn(Banner Elk)(Great Value!)
USD 112*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westglow Resort & Spa(Blowing Rock)
USD 310*
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 89*
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
USD 76*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Village(Beech Mountain)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
66
7
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade granolagrandfather mountainhoneymoon suitegourmet chocolatesb ba wonderful staythe main housethe cottageswonderful hostspotato pancakesfront porchdietary needsbrought our dogmountain airblowing rocksteam showerget away
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2011

First, let me say that the old Linville Cottages is under new and wonderful ownership, and is now called Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages. (You may find them online at www.gablehausinn.com.) And second, if you are going to Grandfather Mountain, or want to use Linville as a base to explore the wider area, the Gable Haus Inn is the place to stay. The reviewer from May 20, 2011 is right on about everything.

We -- my beautiful partner and I -- went to Linville to hike Grandfather and part of Linville Gorge, and by good luck we stayed at this charming and peaceful B&B. We spent only one night, but Norma and Erich welcomed us warmly. Throughout our brief stay they attended graciously and without fuss to the least details of our comfort (restocking our little fridge, leaving a small happy note to remind us of breakfast, providing bowls and utensils when we returned unannounced with dinner, and so forth.)

When we first arrived, Norma made ready two tall glasses of iced tea and a delicious cake, warm from the oven. (Breakfast the next morning was even better -- we enjoyed, along with the conversation, a bowl of fruit, followed by 'buttercups' and thinly sliced potatoes, followed by light and yummy crepes splashed with fruit sauce.) The nap we took after our tea and cake was amazingly restful. The neighborhood is tranquil, the mountain air refreshing. The front and back yards of the Gable Haus are full of flowers and hummingbirds (and the cries of roosters across the street, which made us feel quite happy and relaxed). And just a stroll down the road from the Gable Haus we found the county's Arts Council, a fine gallery of High Mountain folk art, and an old general store where you can hear live bluegrass music on Saturdays and Sundays. (We were there on a Sunday.)

The next morning, when we left for our hike, both Norma and Erich met us at the door, to thank us again for coming and to bid us a pleasant journey. The entrance to Grandfather Mountain is only a couple of miles down the road, and we hiked the length of Grandfather Trail with a spring in our step, well-fed and rejuvenated by our stay at Gable Haus. If we are fortunate enough to make it back to those high mountains, we'll stay with Norma and Erich for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M_C_and_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

In a word, excellent! I have been staying at this B&B now for 3 years (once a year). My first 2 stays were not the best, but to my surprise the establishment is under new ownership and they have made some amazing changes to the place.

All the rooms and cabins have been refinished and are very nice. The rooms inside the main house have a relaxing decorum and each has its own theme. All of the rooms have beautiful art work, much of which has been painted by one of the owners. The individual cottages are amazing as well. I stayed in the Avery Cottage with my girlfriend and we could not have been happier. It was very clean and romantic. It is a perfect getaway for us since we love mountain towns and hiking, which is all in about 5-10 minute drive.

The new owners may be the best things about the B&B! They are a really nice couple, Norma and Eric. Norma is an awesome painter and is very well travelled. We sat around having a cocktail or two listening to some really cool stories. Eric is a chef and the breakfasts he prepared each morning were out of this world! One morning we had fresh crapes with homemade jam on top!!!! Soooo good!!! Both of them are really nice and a ton of fun to talk to. They are there if you want to chat and are very social, but they will let you have all the privacy you want as well, which was really nice for my girlfriend and I.

All in all, this is the only place I would stay in Linville or the surrounding area. For the price, you will not find a nicer, cleaner, friendlier, or more accommodating place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chavezmark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

My boyfriend and I have stayed here 3 times, and love it! Our dog enjoys it too. The owners are incredibly friendly and hospitable. They will do whatever they can to make your stay perfect. We have stayed in the Avery Larkin and Grandfather's Nook. Both suites were roomy, perfectly furnished for the area (rustic and comforting), and had everything we could think we might need already in them... Breakfast included delicious homecooked country baked goods, as well as yummy farmers' pie and biscuits. My boyfriend can't get enough of that stuff! There are ample outdoor activities close by. We are backpackers, and this is one of our favorite areas to visit. However, there's also excellent shopping and good food nearby too. The owners are always full of suggestions, just ask.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AT_Mimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I have read other reviews. Yes there is a rooster farm across the street but it is part of the charm of this place. Chris and Chrissie know the area and every time we stay there, they always tell us new places to go and see. They are wonderful with pets. They always make us feel welcome and at home. We always stay in Linn Cottage when it is available. It gives us the privacy that we like. I enjoy just sitting on the porch on a quiet afternoon and listening to the sounds of the town around us.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNEADSRACKELLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

My family stayed here for three nights and were all very pleased. We stayed in a cottage and brought our dog,who also enjoyed the experience. She enjoyed the attention with treats and blankets. Our cottage was very clean and comfortable. There was foods stocked in the refridgerator and breakfast in the dinning room was very good and plentifull. We had the option to eatin with a basket provided. Which was also very good, the filled frenchtoast was excellent. Our kids are teenagers and were also pleased with the experience and we all loved the area and beatufull scenery.
The owners were very friendly and accommodating with usefull ideas for activities. Overall our experience was excellent, everything was very clean with attention to all. Other guests that were there at the same time did not convey any bad experiences and were return guests. We would recommend this to anyone wanting a nice relaxing get away. The furniture was clean and comfortable we found it very satisfying and the whole family enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evening relaxing and playing board games.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lockoutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews