We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Linville Cottages is now Gabe Haus Inn - WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Linville B&B and Inns
Brentwood, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Linville Cottages is now Gabe Haus Inn - WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We had stayed once before when the property was under different ownership and called the Linville Cottages B&B. It was good. The new owners have done an excellent job with making this a top notch Bed & Breakfast. Now called the Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages, this property is a must if visiting the Blue Ridge area in North Carolina. The proprietors, Norma & Eric, truly combine European charm with North Carolina hospitality. Look for them at www.gablehausinn.com to enjoy a unique North Carolina high country getaway. We thoroughly enjoyed staying there and will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Name has changed. Book @ www.gablehausinn.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmichaeldunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

First, let me say that the old Linville Cottages is under new and wonderful ownership, and is now called Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages. (You may find them online at www.gablehausinn.com.) And second, if you are going to Grandfather Mountain, or want to use Linville as a base to explore the wider area, the Gable Haus Inn is the place to stay. The reviewer from May 20, 2011 is right on about everything.

We -- my beautiful partner and I -- went to Linville to hike Grandfather and part of Linville Gorge, and by good luck we stayed at this charming and peaceful B&B. We spent only one night, but Norma and Erich welcomed us warmly. Throughout our brief stay they attended graciously and without fuss to the least details of our comfort (restocking our little fridge, leaving a small happy note to remind us of breakfast, providing bowls and utensils when we returned unannounced with dinner, and so forth.)

When we first arrived, Norma made ready two tall glasses of iced tea and a delicious cake, warm from the oven. (Breakfast the next morning was even better -- we enjoyed, along with the conversation, a bowl of fruit, followed by 'buttercups' and thinly sliced potatoes, followed by light and yummy crepes splashed with fruit sauce.) The nap we took after our tea and cake was amazingly restful. The neighborhood is tranquil, the mountain air refreshing. The front and back yards of the Gable Haus are full of flowers and hummingbirds (and the cries of roosters across the street, which made us feel quite happy and relaxed). And just a stroll down the road from the Gable Haus we found the county's Arts Council, a fine gallery of High Mountain folk art, and an old general store where you can hear live bluegrass music on Saturdays and Sundays. (We were there on a Sunday.)

The next morning, when we left for our hike, both Norma and Erich met us at the door, to thank us again for coming and to bid us a pleasant journey. The entrance to Grandfather Mountain is only a couple of miles down the road, and we hiked the length of Grandfather Trail with a spring in our step, well-fed and rejuvenated by our stay at Gable Haus. If we are fortunate enough to make it back to those high mountains, we'll stay with Norma and Erich for sure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M_C_and_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

In a word, excellent! I have been staying at this B&B now for 3 years (once a year). My first 2 stays were not the best, but to my surprise the establishment is under new ownership and they have made some amazing changes to the place.

All the rooms and cabins have been refinished and are very nice. The rooms inside the main house have a relaxing decorum and each has its own theme. All of the rooms have beautiful art work, much of which has been painted by one of the owners. The individual cottages are amazing as well. I stayed in the Avery Cottage with my girlfriend and we could not have been happier. It was very clean and romantic. It is a perfect getaway for us since we love mountain towns and hiking, which is all in about 5-10 minute drive.

The new owners may be the best things about the B&B! They are a really nice couple, Norma and Eric. Norma is an awesome painter and is very well travelled. We sat around having a cocktail or two listening to some really cool stories. Eric is a chef and the breakfasts he prepared each morning were out of this world! One morning we had fresh crapes with homemade jam on top!!!! Soooo good!!! Both of them are really nice and a ton of fun to talk to. They are there if you want to chat and are very social, but they will let you have all the privacy you want as well, which was really nice for my girlfriend and I.

All in all, this is the only place I would stay in Linville or the surrounding area. For the price, you will not find a nicer, cleaner, friendlier, or more accommodating place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chavezmark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

My boyfriend and I have stayed here 3 times, and love it! Our dog enjoys it too. The owners are incredibly friendly and hospitable. They will do whatever they can to make your stay perfect. We have stayed in the Avery Larkin and Grandfather's Nook. Both suites were roomy, perfectly furnished for the area (rustic and comforting), and had everything we could think we might need already in them... Breakfast included delicious homecooked country baked goods, as well as yummy farmers' pie and biscuits. My boyfriend can't get enough of that stuff! There are ample outdoor activities close by. We are backpackers, and this is one of our favorite areas to visit. However, there's also excellent shopping and good food nearby too. The owners are always full of suggestions, just ask.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AT_Mimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIDA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

I have read other reviews. Yes there is a rooster farm across the street but it is part of the charm of this place. Chris and Chrissie know the area and every time we stay there, they always tell us new places to go and see. They are wonderful with pets. They always make us feel welcome and at home. We always stay in Linn Cottage when it is available. It gives us the privacy that we like. I enjoy just sitting on the porch on a quiet afternoon and listening to the sounds of the town around us.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNEADSRACKELLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linville
8.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
20.0 km away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
29.3 km away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 km away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
19.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
19.0 km away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages

Property: Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages
Address: 154 Ruffin St, Linville, NC (Formerly Linville Cottages Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Linville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Linville
Price range (per night): $131 - $200
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and renovation. Located in the high country of North Carolina just 2 miles from Grandfather Mountain is this 1910 quaint 8 gabled farm house with a new name Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages. Blue Ridge Parkway entrance is 3 miles away connecting to all sightseeing. Walking distance to The Old Hampton Store and now a part of the new Linville Arts District. Art and Gift Gallery on premises. Two cottages w/king beds, jacuzzi, kitchens. (Children and Pet friendly in cottages) Honeymoon Suite in haus with jacuzzi and private bath. Four bedrooms w/half baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gable Haus Country Inn And Linville Cottages
Gable Haus Country Inn & Linville Cottages Hotel Linville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing