We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Fisherman's Rest Holiday Cottage. Traditional Fisherman's cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fisherman's Rest Holiday Cottage. Traditional Fisherman's cottage
Welcome to our cottage Fisherman's Rest Holiday Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Fisherman's Rest Holiday Cottage. Traditional Fisherman's cottage
Welcome to our cottage
Fisherman's Rest Holiday Cottage
Sunset over Burghead
Traditional working harbour
Living Room - 2 leather sofas, space saver dining table.
Living Room - Flat screen tv with dvd player, electric flame effect fire, wifi
Fully equipped kitchen
Built in electric cooker with ceramic hob
Small kitchen fully equipped with microwave, toaster, slow cooker
Downstairs double bedroom with king sized quilt
Downstairs double bedroom
Upstairs family room
Upstairs family room
Upstairs family bedroom with double bed (king sized quilt) and single bed
Downstairs bathroom with toilet, basin and bath with overhead shower
Outside area with BBQ, small patio area with table and chairs
Garden at front of property, safe and secure for children or animals
Well established garden
Beautiful roses
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Burghead, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SJBScotla...
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely to be back once again at the Fisherman's Rest, This time with my Brother, for a wee photography trip, Always nice to see what Sue and David have done since our last visit, It really does feel like my second home, Great to catch up with Janet
Janet and Patrick do a fantastic job of looking after the place, making sure everything is ready for your arrival, and this time the welcome tray with biscuits jam etc was very welcoming, The garden was looking lovely with the spring flowers in bloom, and we were blessed by great weather for our usual trip to Lossiemouth, and this time a trip to Troup Head, a must for any wildlife photographer, Sadly the time passes to quickly but hopefully it won't be too long until we are back again.
The cottage is suitable for disabled with some mobility problems but not those in a wheelchair

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: I love everything about the cottage
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
Thank you so much Sybil, we're always trying to think of things that would improve our guests stay and we look forward to welcoming you and Danny back to Fisherman's Rest xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Homely Fisherman's Rest”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Myself, my husband Steve and my two teenage sons have been coming to Burghead for 25yrs and have stayed in the Fisherman's Rest many times. Sue has improved the cottage year on year, with the addition recently of wifi which was popular with our sons. The cottage is very cosy, comfortable and well maintained. It has all the modern amenities should you require them and is very convenient for the superb beach and local shop. There are many things to do in and around Burghead and in Moray generally. During our week we visited the Wildlife Park at Kingussie, Cromarty on the Black Isle, Glenlivet distillery and Chanonry Point to see the dolphins. We normally walk around the 7 mile bay to Findhorn, which is quite demanding but very enjoyable. Unfortunately, tide times didn't suit during this visit. There are often Grey Seals in the harbour and we saw Dolphins from the headland view point on top of the Pictish visitor centre. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and convenient.
Liked least: Shower in the bath.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thanks Annie glad you had such a great time X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzanne M
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“VERY HOMELY WELLCOMING AND RELAXING”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in August 2015

My family and I have been returning to Fishermans Rest every year since my girls were small.It just gets better and better, Sue the owner has upgraded the cottage in recent years and it is a gorgeous, homely and very relaxing place to stay.The beach is just a walk away from the front gate and the harbour is nearby also ,so much to see and do in the local area would highly recommend everyone to book Fishermans Rest we are as always looking forward to our next trip to Burghead.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: enclosed garden
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thank you so much, hope to see you again soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJBScotla...
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cosy Home from Home”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in July 2015

My Last visit to the Fisherman's Rest was in July with My Daughter, Son in Law and there very well behaved cat ,
But this was not my first visit to the cottage, The first time I stayed at the Fisherman's rest was in April 2011, and returned the same year in the November, and again in the following February 2012, With my brother, we like to go to the fisherman's rest at least once a year.
The cottage is well equipped, the kitchen has everything you would need, kettle, toaster, cooker, microwave fridge, and Slow cooker (The washing machine and tumble dryer and a large fridge freezer are in the out house, There is also space in the out house to store your bikes should you have them with you or to leave wet/muddy clothing and footwear) ,
The sitting room has two double leather sofas, TV with built in DVD player, and a CD player, there is a folding dining table and chairs, Electric fire is you should need it, although the cottage has central heating throughout , is a spacious double bedroom, which also had a TV with built in DVD player, with pine furnishings, The bathroom is downstairs and has bath with overhead shower, wash basin and wc, Upstairs is a bedroom with a double bed and a single bed, TV with built in DVD player.
Outside in the well looked after garden you have a patio table, bench, Bar-Bq and the outhouse.
As I say I have been going to the Fisherman's Rest since 2011, there is always a warm welcome from Janet and Patrick the housekeepers, who do a fantastic job, the cottage is spotlessly clean and they also tend to the garden.
My trips are mainly for photography and it the winter months it is to photograph the winter migrants (hence November and February visits) The cottage is a perfect base for touring, and with the Roseisle Forest right on the doorstep, There is always plenty to so no matter the time of year, with Castles, forest walks at Lossiemouth, Burghead, Culbin, to name but a few, and wildlife in abundance, Crested Tits, Red Squirrels, Crossbills, Dolphins, Seals. A trip to Kinloss Abbey, Museums in Forres and Elgin, and without sounding too ghoulish on Grant Street, Burghead is the Old Burial Ground And St Aethan's Chapel, with 99 gravestones
Earliest gravestone dates 1668 the most recent is 1898, there is also the Bughead Well, and the Visitor centre, at the right time of year Burghead is a great place to see the Aurora Borealis, and some of the most stunning sunsets, The main Street in Burhead has all you need 2 shops pharmacy and I can recommend the Bothy Bistro, Burghead is stepped in history, the other place I would recommend is Findhorn and for those fit and like a good walk you can walk along the 6 miles of sandy beach to Findhorn.
Looking forward to another trip this year!!

The property is suitable for people with some disabilities but not those that need a wheelchair,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely Feel, comfortable Love the old family photos on the stairway
Liked least: There is nothing I don't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing