We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and spacious”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear extension Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Rear extension
Living Room
Patio doors to enclosed garden/parking
Master bedroom with super kingsize bed
Twin Bedroom
Ground Floor Single Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Burghead Beach
Burghead Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Burghead, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Treacleca...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable and spacious”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage spotlessly clean, welcome pack was breakfast cereal, pint of milk, pack of biscuits, tea & coffee etc. Place was warm; ideal for elderly travellers, with ground floor bedroom and cloakroom etc. Downstairs bedroom lacked small wardrobe or similar for hanging clothes. Upstairs rooms spacious with sea view from master bedroom, comfy beds, lots of storage, and good bathroom facilities. Kitchen well equipped but needed wooden or other heat resistant board for standing hot pans. Excellent location, easy access, peaceful and quiet. Local shops provide all daily essentials. Highlight of the week was wonderful display of dolphins around the point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location, space, quietness
Liked least: Nothing, all very good.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K
Duns, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“quality cottage, perfect location.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Just spent a fabulous week in this well appointed and spotlessly clean cottage.
Makes a change for dog friendly properties to be of such high standards and would not hesitate to recommend to other dog lovers with high standards. The enclosed yard is ideal for dogs or children as it is very safe. There are endless walks on the doorstep, either beach or woodland and the laminate flooring in the kitchen area is easy to clean.
Our weather was amazing, but the house is very warm and well equipped if you want to stay indoors. As a group we voted to eat out on our last evening, but decided to have another bbq ( we took our own) to sample the home bred angus steak bought from a local farm shop. We have stayed in holiday lets all over uk and this has to be in our top 3 for cleanliness, location and functionality. Owners also gave us some good tips about local boat trips etc. Excellent all round customer service.
Ideally situated to explore the area and due to the vast amount of visitor attractions accessible from Clavie cottage another visit will be needed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage cleanliness and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debsnbob
wallsend
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The cottage is very nice, situated just off the main road in Burghead. It's very well situated for touring the Moray coast. It is decorated to a very high standard and is impeccably clean. A lovely welcome pack is provided and there were some lovely little touches like the bucket and spade set left for the kiddies! Couple of things to be aware of though. The staircase is a narrow winding staircase with no handrail, just a rope on the central pillar, not so good for my travelling companion who is 80 and a bit unsteady on his feet, luckily there was a bedroom and toilet downstairs or this would have been an issue. Also the bed in the double bedroom, the mattress is VERY firm and if you are used to a softer bed like me you may find it uncomfortable, i had to use the duvet as a mattress topper to try and get comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the double bedroom
Liked least: The mattress on the double bed, very uncomfortable if you are used to a softer mattress, this one is very firm
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Clavie Cottage. My husband and I work very hard to make sure that our guests enjoy their stay.

Unfortunately everybody has different preferences when it comes to mattresses and we have tried to suit most people by providing a Silentnight miracoil mattress rated as medium by the manufacturer. The bed is also made up with a quilted mattress topper and quilted mattress protector. Please accept my apologies if this did not suit you as we really do want our guests to be comfortable during their stay. We do have an additional thick down topper which we could have provided if you had let us know during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IdleBaldy
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great first visit last year, and immediately booked again for this summer.
This time we also experienced the same high standard as last year.
We actually found a photo of the cottage before it was renovated on the web, and when we saw that, it really makes you appreciate the efforts the owners have made.
This place is still top of our list when considering a UK break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: The drive to get there
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments - we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again next year.

Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dnjm2013
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was everything we could have wished for.”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Clavie Cottage had all the facilities we needed as a base for our week of orienteering in Moray. It was clean, comfortable and well appointed. With the five of us - 2 grandparents, 1 daughter, 2 grandchildren - all rising at the same time to get to the events each day the extra toilet and washbasin was a godsend. With us running through forests on two rainy days and four very hot days the shower and washing machine were put to good use, as was the well-supplied kitchen to cook for five hungry mouths in the evenings. The grandchildren enjoyed the supplied DVDs.
On the service side, the main kitchen light tube blew one night and it was replaced the next day. You cannot ask for more than that.
It was all good, but the best feature has to be the master bedroom with its fantastic sea view. We saw the sunrise on our last day at 5 a.m. Beautiful.
We cannot think of anything we did not like and we have booked Clavie Cottage for two weeks when we will be back for the next 6 days of orienteering at Highland 2015, which incorporates the World Orienteering Championships.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Master bedroom - see general review
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing