We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We came in at 2 am, having been turned away from Holiday Inn Express due to computer problems. This hotels computer was also down but the clerk had us registered and in our bed in no time. The next morning we enjoyed a fabulous free breakfast which was much more than most hotels provide. Loved it and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdhbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

One property's loss was our gain and I'm pleased that our front desk was able to work around the computer being down to get you checked into the hotel quickly (as I'm sure you were tired from traveling). We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of our property and would love to host your next stay! Please feel free to contact us the next time you'll be in the area and we'll get you squared away for your next stay.
Thank you---Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

856 - 860 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed at the Days Inn in late November on a weeknight. There was almost nobody there. Check in was fast and friendly and the prices were fastastic. Breakfast was included. The room was as close to the ocean as possible. The breaking waves kept me awake for a while which was not a problem. The room was clean and close to dining. We will be back if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

We're glad you were able to take advantage of our great lower rates in the winter. I'm very pleased you found everything clean & comfortable and that our staff was accommodating. We are hoping that everyone is enjoying our new, free hot breakfast of sausage, eggs, waffles, cereals, pastries, etc. Please feel free to contact us direct the next time you are able to visit the Outer Banks--we'd be happy to help reserve your next stay!
Thank you--Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay overall, but they took 1 more hour than what they have posted to let us check in.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodLoverInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property on the Outer Banks. I'm pleased that you had a good stay and am sorry that your check in was later than normal. Our check in does begin at 4 pm for the hotel and many times we are able to let guests check in early. We do thank you for staying with us while you were visiting the Outer Banks and hope that if you are able to visit again we can make an even better impression the next time around.

Thank you--Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The Days Inn Mariner is in a good location close to the beach. Easy to get to. The pricing off season was good. A few restaurants nearby. McDonald's, Dairy Queen, Pizza Hut,Burger King, Five Guys. There are good full service restaurants close by also. Other amenities nearby Walgreens, CVS, Harris Teeter. Movie Theater. The location is near the Wright Brother National Memorial.

The continental breakfast was worth it. My only complaint is the room smelled like smoke. The hotel allows smoking in their rooms for an additional fee. If you do not smoke like me you run the chance of smelling smoke during your stay. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I had to borrow odor neutralizer as the regular store in the area were closed because it was later Thanksgiving Day so I couldn't buy Frebreze. The front desk offered to move me to another room if I couldn't get rid of the smoky smells. If you book your room directly they will charge you a $1.13 a day fee.

Has outdoor pool

In a pinch I may stay here again but, this place wouldn't be my first choice in this area.

Room Tip: Book your trip through 3rd party service such as Hotels.com to avoid additional room fees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tredawg94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Mariner. I do want to make a comment first---this hotel has been nonsmoking for over 4 years now. We do not allow guests to smoke in our rooms or suites. There may have been a miscue from the sign in the room that says that a fee will be charged to a guest if they smoke in the room, but our rooms are all nonsmoking. Guests may smoke outside of their room but not inside.

I am sorry if someone did smoke in your room prior to your stay and that it did affect your stay. If you use the in-room safe during your stay there is a charge of $1.00 + tax for your stay. It is laptop size for those traveling with laptops. If you do not use the safe, then you may let the front desk know at check out and they can remove the safe charge. Please be advised, you will always get the best rate by calling the hotel direct or booking on our website direct rather than using a third party website. You will also find it easier to cancel or modify reservations without having to pay a fee if you need to do so if you book with us direct as well.

We appreciate your visiting with us while you were on the Outer Banks and hope to see you another time.
Thank you--Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Have been going to this hotel since 1977. It is not the fanciest but it is consistent. Has had many upgrades, linens, breakfast (waffles), afternoon popcorn/snacks, tea/coffee available all day. This is one of a few hotels that offer kitchen/suites and is available by the day. Also reservations can be cancelled if necessary (unlike private home reservations). Perfect view, nice staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the original building on the ocean side of Beach Road. The rooms on the 2nd & 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob23188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

We appreciate all of our returning guests and I guess you have seen a lot of updates since you first started visiting with us! Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts down and sharing them with others as well as offering the room tips you did.

I hope that our continual improvements will keep you visiting with us and we would love to have you offer comments on your ideas too the next time you are here with us or even if you just want to e-mail.

We'll see you next time! Thanks, Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.4 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,288 reviews
0 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
4.3 km away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,194 reviews
4.4 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,623 reviews
11.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner

Address: 1801 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $76 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property features all non-smoking rooms and suites with a complimentary hot breakfast and afternoon refreshments. We are located a 1 1/2 miles north of the Wright Brothers Memorial in Kill Devil Hills. All rooms and suites feature: microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker and free Wi-Fi. There is an outdoor pool on-site (open seasonally) as well as a guest laundry. We also have 1 or 2 bedroom suites for those wanting to be together but have a little extra room for their stay. Our 2 bedroom suites and some of our 1 bedroom suites also feature full kitchens. We have oceanfront, oceanside and pond side rooms and suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Mariner
Days Inn & Suites Mariner Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Mariner
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing