We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (991)
Filter reviews
991 results
Traveller rating
448
321
118
58
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
321
118
58
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murphy bed living room the outer banks higher floor breakfast staff breakfast room off season pool and hot tub third floor sliding door great place to stay across the street great room waffles hot breakfast free breakfast beds were comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 991 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We were so excited to have an "oceanfront" room. However, we were on the 1st floor with the view of a sand dune and a shed. The thing I was most looking forward to was sitting on my balcony enjoying the ocean and watching the sunrise. That sure wasn't possible. We paid over $200/night and couldn't even see the ocean. Also, our sliding glass door was broken when we checked in. They did send someone to fix it, but that was not a fun way to start our vacation. I did like the suite style room with 2 sinks and a kitchen. The other complaint I had was the wifi in our room did not work. In fact we couldn't even use our mobile data in our room. We had to go out on the porch/patio just to use our own data or wifi. Probably will not stay here again.

Room tip: Beware...oceanfront doesn't mean you can see the ocean
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monta S, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Karen,

I am very sorry for the confusion regarding your room at our hotel and the issue with the wifi. We do not like to hear that guests were not satisfied. We are glad to hear that you liked the layout of the room.

If you do decide to give us another opportunity the rooms listed as "ocean view" will ensure you a higher floor and view of the ocean.

Sincerely,

Monta Steagall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Beautiful view of the ocean but if you like to see beach also stay on the 3rd floor or higher. Bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, did not want to get out of bed and that is definitely not me when there is a beach available.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 574lancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monta S, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Dear Guest,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the comfortable bed. We certainly look forward to your return visit.


Sincerely,

Monta Steagall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

A nice hotel on the beach.
The luggage cart was a bit difficult to maneuver onto the curb and toward the elevator. There are elevators and stairs so it is fairly accessible.
Upon entering the room we were so pleased! We discovered a small full size fridge, a microwave and a sink. There is a nice view of the ocean and the pool and hot tub. The beach is just steps away from the hotel.
There are many amenities. In the living room area there is a MURPHY BED. I was so surprised! What a unique and great way to think outside of the box and accommodate more guests with a comfortable bed. So much nicer than a roll away. There is also a couch, 2 chairs, and a table with chairs in the living room, providing lots of seating to watch the big screen TV.
Just off of the living room is a nice balcony to sit and look out over the ocean.
The bathroom has a closed off sink, toilet with the shower. Outside of the door there is another sink, great for families. There were enough towels for our family of four. AND there was enough clearance between the bottom of the door and floor so it didn't bunch up the bath mat! Plus, there was a bathroom fan for ventilation. These little things are important to me.
The bedroom has 2 Queen size beds with 4 pillows on each bed, 2 pillows for everyone! And if 4 pillows aren't enough there are 2 more in the closet. There is a CLEAN TV REMOTE in a slip that says fresh remote, peace of mind. And get this, there are 2 SUITCASE RACKS. 2! I have never experienced 2 suitcase racks!
There has been everything I like in a hotel room and more.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monta S, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Dear Lisa,

Thank you so much for the kind words regarding the hotel and your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed all the amenities the hotel has to offer.

We hope you will be able to visit again soon.

Sincerely,

Monta Steagall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

This is second year we have chosen to stay at Best Western for our honeymoon and anniversary. We have already booked for our anniversary stay next June, 2018. We love the location at the Outer Banks and overall appearance of our Suite...love having the bedroom separate from the living area. Like having a full size refrigerator. Good value for all you get. Love having a great breakfast included with the room price. Food was delicious. Awesome view of the ocean and private balcony.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank dianehM5458CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monta S, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Diane,

We are so glad you continue to chose to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit next June.

Sincerely,

Monta Steagall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Booked The Best Western after canceling at another hotel down the street. So glad we did! The suite was very spacious and loved the fact that there were two bathroom sinks! The staff was great. Housekeeping did a nice job. Overall a nice comfortable place to stay and we will be back!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank reneh686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monta S, Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

We are glad you got to enjoy your vacation even if it didn't start off well. We are happy that you got to enjoy it with us. Thank you for the kind words. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews