We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centralized location to visit the Outer Banks Next to beach and many great attractions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington
Level Contributor
774 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Centralized location to visit the Outer Banks Next to beach and many great attractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We got a two queen beds suite with kitchenette, a murphy bed in the large living room area. Very spacious and clean. Bathroom has two sinks that was great for getting ready from showering @ the rate of $170 per night, it seems to be a great bargain for the mid summer time. Comes with continental breakfast.

The location is just off the main highway, close to Kitty Hawk and Duck going North, and mid point to south Cape Hatteras. Also closer to going back to mainland NC. We definitely would stay here again when we visit..

Room Tip: Book early for summer months, but check out to see if rate drop. In two months, we found the room r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brown_Samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    262
    87
    37
    35
See reviews for
350
266
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Loved the suite with kitchen and nice living area. Amazing sunrise from the balcony. Had "dunes" rate but ocean views are great from second floor. Room was clean, staff was polite and I'd stay there again. I've already recommended to friends. Decor is a little dated and finishes a little worn. But for the price and considering we weren't in the room often, no big deal. Only thing I wasn't wild about...there was a small hole in the ceiling in the bathroom over the tub. I heard running water and walked back in and water was streaming from the floor above. I told the lady at the front desk, there was no follow up to say it was or wasn't fixed. My next shower was really quick wondering if something was going to drip on me from above.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AVLTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

this hotel was in a good location. only about 8 miles from Roanoke Island, about 20 minutes from Rodanthe. Pool was acceptable. Easy access to the beach. The only major complaint that we had was that the air conditioner vent vented out directly onto the balcony. The vent was about 3 feet square so pretty much took up the entire lower section of the balcony wall. When we wanted a shady, cool place to sit in the afternoon to read this wasn't the place! Good for drying clothes but that's about it. It was so noisy it was hard to hear the surf over the noise of the vent. A big part of the reason we went to a beach hotel was to enjoy the balcony to enjoy the surf and quiet. Not here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanda24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Me & spouse stayed here 6-17-2012 for 4 nights. Spur of the moment beach trip. Got room from hotwire rate $167 per night. (room was $250 on other sites). Got put on 2nd floor. Large sand dune view but still could see the ocean. Room very clean. We had a living room with couch, couple chairs, coffee table, round dining room table with 4 chairs in corner. Full kitchen, it looked very clean for a hotel kitchen. Minimal cooking utensils. Separate bedroom, had tv in living room & bedroom. Bedroom had a door so hubby could stay up at night & watch tv while I went to bed. Also pull down Murphy bed in the living room. All furniture dated. Overall, I liked the hotel. Great central location to see the sights.

Room Tip: If you book with hotwire, hotel puts you on 1st or 2nd floors. It wasn't a big deal to us. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sktw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, PA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

I have reviewed this hotel in the past but things have changed somewhat. My sister and I were there at the end of May. Unfortunately we arrived there during a tropical storm. When we checked in, the room was not very clean. The tile floor was dirty and had long hair all over it. I found an earring and hair twisties on the floor and other debris. It was if the room was never vacuumed. After requesting it to be cleaned up there was still stuff on the floors. The overall appearance of the room was more on the shabby side then our previous visit the year before. Still the location of the room was great, poolside with an ocean view and the people we met there were really nice. It is time for an update for this hotel to bring it back up to the potential it has. You can't beat the location and the large rooms but....this hotel is in need of some remodeling. If they do this we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amsirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.5 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.2 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.9 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
10.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
29.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 107 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price range (per night): $108 - $385
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Reef Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Best Western Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites Kill Devil Hills, NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing