We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception, party of 34”

Rooster's Southern Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Rooster's Southern Kitchen is a brand new restaurant run by local owners. It is now open daily from 11:30 am to 10:00pm! Music starts at 6/7 pm nightly. Large parties are welcome (parties of 11 or more, call to make reservation). Make history and be our first ever customers. We are located at milepost 8 3/4 in downtown Kill Devil Hills. Thank you in advance for your support!
Restaurant details
Description: Rooster's Southern Kitchen is a brand new restaurant run by local owners. It is now open daily from 11:30 am to 10:00pm! Music starts at 6/7 pm nightly. Large parties are welcome (parties of 11 or more, call to make reservation). Make history and be our first ever customers. We are located at milepost 8 3/4 in downtown Kill Devil Hills. Thank you in advance for your support!
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

This place was PERFECT for our special event! From taking our reservation over the phone (weeks ahead of time) to showing up to our private room & wait staff... things could not have turned out better.

The wait staff was very professional, and helpful of giving chef recommendations while we ordered. Our large group of 34 ordered a large variety off of the full menu, and not a single person was slightly disappointed.

Some highlights are the "bacon and eggs" appetizer, the tuna and salmon entrees, and every dessert on the menu was above & beyond competing restaurants.

Simply a fantastic experience. From our large party to more intimate dining, and even casual dining with live music in other areas this is hands down one of the best restaurants for everybody and anybody in the Outer Banks.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenwoolard, Public Relations Manager at Rooster's Southern Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

We appreciate your visit and review! We are thrilled to hear that your large party was happy with their experience—your happiness is all we seek! We hope to serve you again in the future.

Best,
Helen Woolard
Rooster's Southern Kitchen
PR/Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 263 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Celebrated a wedding with a group of about 35, excellent service, excellent choice for some southern BBQ options. Started with some fried pickles and bacon and eggs. But the bacon and eggs weren't what you would expect unless you read the description, which I did, hence why we ordered too. A white rectangle plate with a deviled egg, pork belly, deviled egg, pork belly, deviled egg, pork bell, deviled egg, drizzled with pepper jam. Could have and should have ordered to go. Best meal yet! Then moved to fried chicken and Mac & cheese which I had enough for 2 more meals and finished with a brownie and chocolate covered bacon. Hello. Excellent dinner with new friends and food. Drinks were good too.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenwoolard, Public Relations Manager at Rooster's Southern Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

We appreciate your enthusiasm and rave review! We're thrilled to hear that your wedding group enjoyed everything and hope we will serve you all again for lunch or dinner!

Cheers,
Helen Woolard
Rooster's Southern Kitchen
PR/Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Had to wait 45 minutes to get our meal. People who ordered after us, got their meals before us. When I asked about our dinner, I was told "you ordered your burger well done. That takes a while".

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank robtom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenwoolard, Public Relations Manager at Rooster's Southern Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

We appreciate your visit and feedback and will make sure that our short ticket times are consistent. We hope you'll give us a second chance at getting a quicker meal.

Best,
Helen Woolard
Rooster's Southern Kitchen
PR/Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Ate here based on the reviews. The "Whole" Half Chicken- basically Southern Fried chicken- was dripping with oil. Too much of a good thing? The coleslaw was good, but at $17 for half a chicken, save your $ and go elsewhere!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank VAPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenwoolard, Public Relations Manager at Rooster's Southern Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

We are offering the fried chicken with smaller portions (and smaller price) in the fall! We hope you'll change your mind and try is once more. Regardless, thanks for your patronage.

Best,
Helen Woolard
Rooster's Southern Kitchen
PR/Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Rooster's fairly new, in its second year maybe, and what a great menu and remodel. The place is spacious, you are not sitting on top of your neighbor, the menu is excellent southern food, and it has a nice appetizer menu and light fare. The fried chicken is good, or you can get fancy with chicken and sweet potato waffle. Very good slaw. Have both lunch and dinner there, it is always good, the owners are on site and check up on you, its a really nice dining experience.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenwoolard, Public Relations Manager at Rooster's Southern Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Thanks so much for your review! We hope to serve you again soon.

Best,
Helen Woolard
Rooster's Southern Kitchen
PR/Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rooster's Southern Kitchen also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Rooster's Southern Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing