We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly wonderful weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colington Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kill Devil Hills
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colington Creek Inn
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfectly wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Colington Creek Inn is truly an exceptional B&B. The innkeeper, Mae, is gracious, friendly, and completely committed to making her guests' experience the best it could possibly be. Overall, this is a wonderful B&B.

The Inn itself was constructed in 2005 and planned from the start to be a B&B. This means it's perfectly set up for the comfort of its guests. There are four guest rooms, one in each of the four corners on the second floor. Each room is beautifully furnished with antique beds, dressers, and chairs -- three have king-sized beds; the fourth has a queen. All four have large private baths, fully equipped and spacious. Each room also has half of a magnificent screened-in porch, furnished with plush chairs, sofas, and tables. The views from every room are incredible -- Kitty Hawk Bay is gorgeous. It's the perfect place to relax.

Breakfast is served on the porches, which gave my husband and me the chance to meet a young couple from Altoona. It was nice talking with them over breakfast both mornings. Mae's breakfasts are wonderful -- we had French toast and sausage one morning (with fresh strawberries, juice, and plenty of coffee and tea); the second morning it was Mae's crustless quiche, sweet rolls, and watermelon. Both breakfasts were delicious. Mae told us she makes a point of serving different food each morning, so that guests who stay an entire week never have the same breakfast twice.

Wine and cheese is served to order each afternoon between 4:30 and 5:30, and Mae always puts out a tray of sweet treats in the evening. Both nights we returned from dinner to find one of Mae's delights waiting for us (chocolate chip cookies, still warm from the oven the first night, and a caramel cake with chocolate butter cream frosting the second night). Everything was delicious.

The Inn has a very nice pool overlooking the bay, with plenty of lounge chairs, and even a grill. There's an elevator to make bringing your luggage up to your room a snap. There's a TV in the lounge on the first floor, a big front porch with rockers, and a ton of things to marvel over as your explore. The Inn is located a few miles down Colington Road, just over the bridge on Colington Island. You'll be within easy reach of all of the OBX beaches, the Wright Brothers Memorial (which is literally just down the street), and Roanoke Island. It really is the perfect place to enjoy the beach while "getting away from it all" at the same time.

My husband and I will definitely be back. This is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, and all have great views. You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cunning12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

THIS is the standard by which EVERY proprietary establishment should be measured! From the tranquil setting, to the warm welcome by Mae & Bob, to the comfortable and CLEAN accommodations, this charming B&B will leave you wanting nothing more! Warm baked goodies await you every night upon return to your room. Mae has wine and cheese at that perfect hour for unwinding and relaxing. The breakfast left us wanting to bring Mae home with us! Best sweet potato pancakes, blueberry muffins, french toast, fruit, juice & coffee, with home-grown roses on our table every morning! We will be returning here as often as we can get there!!! Dan & Cynthia, Dayton OH

Room Tip: Each room is unique...you won't be disappointed in any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dje1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This B and B was fabulous! From the moment we were greeted by Mae (owner) to the our last goodbye, we were completely pleased. The room was very cozy and comfortable. They kept the whole place clean and tidy. Bob and Mae were exceptionally nice and gave great advice on places to visit since it was our first visit to OBX (but not our last). I loved this place so much that I've been raving about it to everyone! I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a wonderful relaxing beach trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband and I enjoyed this place! It was quaint, comfortable, clean, and had great views! Bob and Mae were friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. It was nice to be away from the beach crowds, but close enough to get to the beach easily. It was a great alternative to staying at a busy beach hotel. We would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank totnpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calistoga
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

When we stayed there in July we had two very relaxing days there...we wished it was more. The view out the windows and from our porch (every room has one.) was wonderful. The inn is a short drive from all the tourism, which suited us just fine. Bob and Mae were the ideal hosts, they made their guests feel at home! Our breakfasts were wonderful. They gave us great advice about where to eat. The Collingto Creek House was fabulous. It is just a short distance away in a quaint house turned into a restaurant.
As I write this, I am watching TV about Hurricane Irene and its devastating path. Several reports were from Kill Devil Hills. We hope and pray that Bob and Mae and their lovely inn are safe.

Room Tip: Each room has access to a screened in porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_4travellng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.8 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
2.7 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
2.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.6 km away
Cypress House Inn
Cypress House Inn
#1 of 5 in Kill Devil Hills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.0 km away
Shutters on the Banks
Shutters on the Banks
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colington Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colington Creek Inn

Property: Colington Creek Inn
Address: 1293 Colington Rd, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-8024
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kill Devil Hills
Price range (per night): $260 - $261
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Colington Creek Inn Kill Devil Hills, NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing