We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT all-around dining experience”

Grandstaff & Stein Book Sellers
Price range: USD 15 - USD 38
Description: Fine Dining with a SECRET! The Outer Bank's First Speakeasy. MP 9.75 Local Seafood, Craft Cocktails, Beer & Wine
Restaurant details
Description: Fine Dining with a SECRET! The Outer Bank's First Speakeasy. MP 9.75 Local Seafood, Craft Cocktails, Beer & Wine
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

This is our 2nd visit - we have dined here for our wedding anniversary the past 2 years. This is a GREAT restaurant for a special occasion!

We were impressed with EVERYTHING - the service, the food, the ambience and the overall experience. We HIGHLY recommend and find it surprising this restaurant isn't fully booked with reservations.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank CowboysFanInMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2018

I went with my wife on a Saturday evening just after Labor Day. The place was rather quiet, which was a shame. We thought the concept was really cool - the selection of cocktails was large and the ones we tried were good. The crab dip appetizer was very tasty. Main courses of Shrimp Andouille and Blackened Tuna were good. The waitress warned that Key Lime Pie would be too small to share, but with one each, it was fine.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Went here on ladies week at the beach. Bar selection delightful and small but well stocked. Quiet and dark and love the atmosphere. I got a delicious drink called the Pirates Handcuff which sweet yet spicy, a little bitter. Not for those who prefer a sweeter drink. One of my friend’s said the Pinot Grigio she had was quite refreshing. Popcorn was delicious, salty, lime, sweet. Sounds unusual but it works. We ordered appetizer of baked brie, very tasty. Nice golden crust, apricot and pecans flavors melded nicely. I was not overly hungry for dinner, but got a Caesar’s salad and coconut shrimp. Ceasar salad was okay, not super garlicky, shrimp very tasty. One friend got the seared mahi and loved it, another got the same but said it was too overdone. Returned to kitchen, they were prompt at replacing the dish, my friend wasn’t thrilled with it but said it was good. Waitress did check on us a few times. Kept our ice water filled and brought ice to keep water cold. Dinner took
Awhile to come, but saw a post that mentioned that they don’t want you to rush through dinner and just enjoy the feel and atmosphere, so that may have been a contributing factor. Definitely a more adult friendly place, not so much for kids. AC was having some issues, so it got a little warm but was bearable. The entry way was really adorable! Love the premise and how it looks once you come into the building. Very unique experience.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

This a pretty cool concept for the Outer Banks. Wonderful cocktails and interesting atmosphere. Our crab dip appetizer was wonderful and the meals (we ordered shrimp, crab cake and mahi plates) were very delicious. The only complaint was the dessert (Key Lime) could have been a little bit bigger, but it was very good. Our waitress was very sweet and attentive. Prices were reasonable. We had a great time exploring something unique and different.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brach4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We had a great time. The host was great. And our waitress was awesome! The food was terrific. We ate at different restaurants every night of our vacation and this was one of the best of the week. We started with the crab dip and the popcorn. Both were really good. Then one of us had the filet shrimp which the filet was so tender and cooked perfectly. The shrimp tasted like they were cooked on a charcoal grill. One of us had the seared mahi and that was awesome as well. And then one had the gnocchi and she thought that was great.
Then we all ordered dessert even though we were full because they sounded so tempting. We ordered the blondie brownie, chocolate cheesecake and the special that night a peach cobbler. Again all 3 were awesome especially the caramel sauce that was on the blondie and the peach special.
They do have a lot of bourbon options but only 1 kind of vodka.
The restaurant wants you to stay a while and enjoy each course and not be rushed. So, plan to be there about 2 hours. It is a super fun evening and something totally different than any other restaurant at the beach.
This should be on the top of your list to try the next time you are in the Outer Banks. And they do take reservations which is awesome since most restaurants at the beach do not take reservations.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank caroljb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grandstaff & Stein Book Sellers also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Grandstaff & Stein Book Sellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing