We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To much money for what they offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“To much money for what they offer”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Me and the family decide to go to the outer banks and my wife look for the hotel the pictures look fine and the price looks a little to high but the pictures on the website look like it was worted when we got there the hotel did not look like the pictures at all the service really suck the continental bretfast was awfull we got an oceanfront room and culdnt see the ocean froom our room cause it was a san dune infron of our room the hotell look nasty and they dont even have a bathroom at the recepcion my daughter ask for the bathroom while we waiting for our room to be ready and the person at the front desk told her that there was no bathroom and if she like there was a beach access about a half amile down the road this place is really the worst hotel we stayed in

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Manager at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
The John yancey Inn is an oceanfront property, as our guests know, that means it is on the oceanfront. Unfortunately this beautiful oceanfront settings comes sand, and beautiful wide dunes.

We have renovated most of our 4 Seasons Building rooms this year, and plan more upgrades for next year. Rooms are of varying views, but all are clean, well maintained, and most have great views and oceanfront balconies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    105
    87
    53
    89
See reviews for
154
157
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My husband and I stayed there on our honeymoon and were greatly disappointed. He spent over $500 on a room that was only worth half of that, if even. First off, we booked a king size room and were sent to a cramped room with barely even a full sized bed. They asked if we wanted to switch rooms or keep it for a discount. I asked what kind of discount and was told we already used one so she couldnt give me another. ( I did NOT use any sort of discount already!!) So we moved. Got our king size room, but it was infested with ants! They had no other room for us to move too so two calls to the front desk and an hour later the maintenance guy ( the only nice person in the place) came to spray the room. But it only lasted one day. The ants were back the morning we checked out. When we did check out the woman at the counter was very curt and unfriendly! If planning a trip to the outer banks, book ahead and spend the extra money on a known hotel with a reputation to uphold! The John Yancey is NOT worth a dime!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wyma88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Owner at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
We at the John Yancey pride ourselves on top customer service, clean rooms, and the best in oceanfront accommodations on teh Outer Banks. As a BEACH property, we cannot avoid all contact with the outside world, and if guests like this one leave food out, it can attracts unwanted things, so we do encourage guests to remove food waste, and using the refrigerators (which are standard in all rooms) to store food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Alpharetta
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

From dead cockroach to ants, filthy halls, stained dirty carpeting, scary blanket and if there was ever a fire, God forbid there is no way you could get out as the window is fixed glass and we were in an interior hall. when I asked for a different room the girl asked what I expected from a 40 yr old hotel! How about some pride of ownership! Asking primerates for a room because you have a captive audience is sad. Shame on you!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahoskie
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Prices out the Wazoo for this place. Paid for an oceanfront, pet friendly room with 2 double beds. Thankfully, we only need this room to sleep. The room was small, barely big enough for all of us. The television was so fuzzy, you couldn't see the picture (on all the channels). When we arrived, it was raining and the window in our room was leaking. They offered us another room, but it was not oceanfront. We opted to stay oceanfront. Now---PRIVACY Means NOTHING-----we were at the pool and had placed the Privacy sign in the lock because we didn't want anyone coming in the room to scare the dogs. Purses, electronics and dogs were left securely-undisturbed in the room--or so we thought. I went up to room to get a drink and as I got to top of steps, I notice the door was open. The maintence man was in the room, attempting to fix window, with the door wide open, privacy sign still in place. Both dogs were so scared they were hiding behind the toilet. Talked to the manager and she said she was sorry and would talk to him. I asked what if I had to been in the shower and walked out of the shower with nothing on and he was in there and she said "Oh, he has done that before". Thankfully the dogs did not wonder out of the door he left wide open. We checked everything and it did not look as if our belongings were disturbed, but per the manager, she told him to come speak to us and ask if it was okay for him to go work on it. She said she even told him where we were. He didn't bother to come tell us that he was going to the room. Just helped himself! Sad to say, but I won't be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctpiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The john Yancy Inn in Kill Devil Hill's was ok as a hotel/motel, but was the photos on their website are not a true reflection of the rooms! Forget the sky blue bed covers and accent walls - this is your ru of the mill motel with patterned bed covers and curtains - which is a shame given the room pictures they advertise.

That said, the rooms were adequate and clean and reasonable in comparison to other places in the area - but expensive in comparson the the rest of North Carolina.

It was also a shame that the pool was next to the road and not on the sea-side of the complex.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, opt for a 2nd floor room or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottie172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kill Devil Hills hotels
4.7 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
853 reviews
2.9 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,141 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,472 reviews
2.4 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,213 reviews
1.4 km away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#9 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Yancey Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Yancey Oceanfront Inn

Property: John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2009 S Virginia Dare Trl, MP 10, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7761
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price range (per night): $131 - $270
Hotel Class:2 star — John Yancey Oceanfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront motel in the heart of the Outer Banks, NC. Outdoor pool, dune deck, rooms with balconies, FREE breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your John Yancey Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Yancey Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
John Yancey Quality Inn
Quality Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Quality Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn Kill Devil Hills, NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing