We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The cabin is spacious, well equipped, and located...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Whiteside Mountain - 5 miles away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Highlands, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Allen593
Taos County, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The cabin is spacious, well equipped, and located on a quiet, wooded hillside overlooking a small lake.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cabin combines urbanesque amenities, spaciousness, and a scenic location, perched on a lush, forested hillside overlooking a small lake. The lake is swimmable, and there are two single-person kayaks available for plying its calm waters. The surroundings are quiet, especially at night, except for the deep voice a bullfrog or two.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvincon
Newport News, Virginia
2 reviews
“Nice Mountain Retreat”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Had a most enjoyable visit. Enjoyed the town, restaurants, shopping, hiking, kayaking on the lake down the stairs from the house and taking pictures of family in front of the large fireplace. Built a fire one night on the deck in the chiminea. Thanks again for sharing your Highlands home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the house over the lake.
Liked least: Upstairs two beds in open second floor area provided little privacy, but good for family members.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crosscour...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Highlands retreat”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Highlands is a wonderful oasis from the busy world, and this house is a great home base for a visit there. It is in a great location, conveniently located about 5 minutes from town and in a quiet area. It sits on a beautiful small lake. It is very homey and wonderfully decorated – pottery, quilts, art, furniture, etc. It is very roomy, with cathedral ceilings. The kitchen is fully equipped if you have a desire to cook instead of checking out all the great restaurants around town. There are numerous deck areas which are perfect for outdoor relaxation.

My wife and I and my mother and sister greatly enjoyed our stay here. We claimed one of the bedrooms downstairs and they took the two beds in the loft. We enjoyed sipping coffee on the dock in the early morning, watching the fog creep over the lake and the occasional comings and goings at the Inn at Half Mile Farm across the lake. We also frequently found ourselves back on the dock in the late afternoon after a day of hiking and/or wandering around town. This is a great place for sleeping – so quiet and of course no city lights.

For hikes, I highly recommend Whiteside Mountain and Glen Falls. For an easy walk to great falls, I recommend Dry Falls.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, roominess, furnishings and decorations, lake
Liked least: no shower in downstairs bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbneid
Davidson, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Relaxing cabin with great amenities and location, in wooded pond area!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Everything we had hoped. Location in Highlands, so near restaurants and attractions like Cullasaja Gorge waterfalls and Whiteside Mtn (big green booklet in cabin with details!). Well-stocked from kitchen to videos. Relaxing porch with hummingbirds and surrounded by rhododendron; and dock on the private pond below where we caught bluegill with bread on a hook. Spacious and attractive (lots of pottery) living and dining areas. Downstairs has a Jacuzzi bath but the only shower is upstairs; our elderly mother couldn't get in & out of Jacuzzi but luckily didn't have a problem with the stairs. Washer and dryer was handy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Reviewed 1 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing