We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Altitudes Restaurant at Skyline Lodge
Ranked #19 of 55 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 45
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Enjoy sunset dining inside or out on the cocktail patio with Highlands' best view at the top of Flat Mountain at 4300 ft. elevation at the historic Skyline Lodge built by Arthur Kelsey a student of Frank Lloyd Wright in 1929. Our executive Chef Kirtis will tease your taste buds with his gourmet dishes. Chef also creates daily specials that feature a great diversity of world flavors, reaching out to Italy, France, Meditteranean and more on a daily basis. Open Wednesday through Saturday for dinner and Saturday , Sunday and holidays for breakfast . They close the weekend with their famous Sunday Champagne Brunch from 12pm to 2pm. Make your reservations today. Located just 5 minutes from Highlands, take Flat Mountain Road off 64 East to Skyline Lodge Road(just after bridge)and make a left to 470 Skyline Lodge Road.
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We stayed at the Skyline Lodge. Their food is wonderful and the breakfast special was gravy and biscuits with eggs. Yum!

Thank Woofie551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAUL S, General Manager at Altitudes Restaurant at Skyline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

mmmmm good we appreciate your dining wih us ... thank you for reminding us............
........happy trails

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Altitudes Restaurant at Skyline Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2017

The lodge is located in Highlands at the top of a mountain. Rather a great view from there. The restaurant is located within the lodge and can only be described as FIRST CLASS. We were seated at the best table in the house overlooking the valley below. Our server, Jennifer, was very professional, polite and was able to answer all questions related to the menu. The menu is extensive and caters to all taste and substitutions are allowed. We both ordered the french onion soup to start. We both agreed that it was the best we have ever tasted. For our main course, we ordered the salmon. Chef Les Williams came out to our table to double check how my wife wanted her salmon prepared. He came out after the main course was served to again check to see if we were pleased. Indeed we were, great food, wow. He came back after the meal and spent a few minutes discussing how the french onion soup was prepared. We will not tell you how, go there and try it for yourself, yummy. All and all, if was the best anniversary dinner we have ever had. Please be sure to make a reservation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mintman2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAUL S, General Manager at Altitudes Restaurant at Skyline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

...we are very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and took the time to write a review ...my staff does there best and are the friendliest bunch that ever worked at the restaurant ....happy dining .......we wish you many more happy anniversaries .........Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

My wife and I drove up from Columbia, SC to celebrate our 4th anniversary with our two small dogs and stayed at the Skyline Lodge. I have to say that we were amazed! We actually made friends with the chef, the bartender and the housekeeping staff. The stay was incredible, the staff was the most cordial that I’ve seen lately and the views were spectacular. I actually sliced my toe prior to the trip and I felt like I had a full-time nursing staff within the lodge. I do have to say that we ate too much during our stay due to the quality and taste of the food but eh, it was a different kind of food, it was our anniversary and we were on vacation. It was tough leaving the immediate access to the pool and front row seating to the Jacuzzi. Also, 2 beautiful waterfalls (that you can walk under) are minutes away. I think there’s 16 or so locally but we only went to the 2 closest. Would recommend this place to anyone that wants a different experience, especially if you’re suffocated by big-city living or beach vacations!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johnathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAUL S, General Manager at Altitudes Restaurant at Skyline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your review/recommendation . My staff are happy , kind and love to please our guests . We hope to see you again soon . i love all the waterfalls and am sorry you did not get to hike a bit more . ,hopefully you are now fully recovered !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

First, the place is old and badly in need of remodeling. The wait staff look like they were recruited from a cult movie. That said, the service was excellent and the food was tasty. Plus, the prices are reasonable. You be the judge.

1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAUL S, General Manager at Altitudes Restaurant at Skyline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you . We are not the Sheraton or Hilton , and are pleased with our theme , surroundings (circa 1929) here in the mountains and the local folks ,who make up our staff . They are happy , friendly and go out of their way to please our guests --is not that the most important thing to appreciate ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

This is an ideal restaurant for Sunday Brunch. At $20 with unlimited mimosa's it is the best deal in town. The entrees are diverse; Chicken Cordon Bleu, Filet Tornados, Shrimp and Grits, Crab Cakes. Eggs Benedict. The food was excellent. Recommend reservations, it filled up fast.

Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAUL S, General Manager at Altitudes Restaurant at Skyline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

...thank you for your recommendation .....we all work hard to please our guests !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Altitudes Restaurant at Skyline Lodge also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Altitudes Restaurant at Skyline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing