We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy, comfortable and convenient”
other travellers have booked this property
Photo courtesy of a guest in our home during the 2017 eclipse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Photo courtesy of a guest in our home during the 2017 eclipse
View from hall of the great room/sunroom.  Woodburning fireplace.  Fully equipped kitchen that is open to the eating/living/sunroom areas.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Photo courtesy of a guest in our home during the 2017 eclipse
View from hall of the great room/sunroom.  Woodburning fireplace.
Fully equipped kitchen that is open to the eating/living/sunroom areas.
Open kitchen and living area as seen from the sunroom.
Jaccuzi tub/shower in hall bathroom.
Loft access from sunroom via spiral staircase.
Loft sitting area with large windows on front of house.
Loft area on back of house with overflow sleeping.
View from loft to sunroom below and one of the two sets of french doors leading to covered deck.
Entrance from carport  into mudroom/laundry room.
Bedroom no 3--antique double bed.
Master BR with king pillow top
Master bath with oversize tiled shower.
Master bath shower.
2nd bedroom-- 2 double beds.
Street view with overflow parking in foreground.
View from deck of driveway to street below.
New in 2017....our covered deck.
April 2017 completion of roof extension to cover the deck.
Plenty of seating on covered deck for rainy day enjoyment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Highlands, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
flaggship
Gainesville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful place close to downtown Highlands, nature center, trails/hiking and all of Highlands' favorite places. Owner was very helpful and clear with instructions. The house felt like we were staying at a friend's place and was very well maintained which made us want to take care of it as such. Fairly wooded lot so that we got to enjoy the area's natural feel, and just a quick walk to a duck pond to watch sunsets. We have stayed in Highlands many times and this house felt like it gave us the quintessential experience of this lovely town. Can't say enough how comfortable and cozy it was. We had a young child with us (5yrs) and she loved it too. Great place to be if you want to be close to natural areas or the downtown. Walk to 'Mountain Fresh' (about 10 minutes) for breakfast, lunch and groceries. Also great place for small family dinner or staying in to watch a movie. Just right! Thanks so much for sharing your home! We have no need to look for another place if we stay in Highlands again. Only thing I would mention before coming is that there is not much parking, just enough for 2-3 cars, we only had 2 cars, no problem but had another family member visit. The driveway is steep but we are familiar with that in Highlands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like a mountain cabin but with modern amenaties
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccojohn
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlands convienence”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Our family stayed in this wonderful home between Christmas and New Years. The location was a short walk to downtown Highlands, The house had a lot of room for five adults, including three bedrooms and an upstairs loft that had a good amount of privacy on its own. The home was very well stocked along with firewood for the fireplace. We went on several hikes while in the area and this home was very convenient. Would return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: front deck
Liked least: limited view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJP-ATL
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well appointed, spacious, convenient, and a great value. Quite pleased!”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Everything is exactly as described in the listing. The house is in excellent shape and with everything that you would need during your stay. Nicely decorated, with updated appliances and plenty of cooking essentials. It is an easy walk to town and very close to Mountain Fresh Market. The owner/managers were very helpful and delightful to work with. WiFi was easy to access and fast. We highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and everything you would need in the kitchen for cooking.
Liked least: We were happy with everything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
songbirdn...
Normandy Beach, New Jersey
1 review
“Perfect location; perfect home”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The location of this home to downtown is perfect. The home is well equipped and beautiful. The spaciousness of a home compared to a hotel is a plus as well as having a washer and dryer. We were very comfortable and very pleased with our experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness of a home vs a hotel.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachAB14
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This house was perfect for our group in town for a wedding! We were so happy to find the fridge lightly stocked when we arrived and that the home included everything we needed...even a book on nearby hikes which we put to good use!

Lisa was great and very prompt during the booking process.

Will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Could use a half bath
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing