We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Had another good time

This was the 3rd time we were there. Had a good time looking for rubies. Had better luck last... read more

Reviewed 11 July 2018
Andrea M
,
Winneconne
Gem Mining and Lily Pads

Fun time with our friends ... mining for gems facing a pond with lily pads, flowers, and big... read more

Reviewed 25 September 2017
jidodds
,
Aiken, South Carolina
Read all 141 reviews
  
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
71
30
14
10
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
30
14
10
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews native buckets carat ruby gem mining free bucket small chips better luck rock hound precious gems wear old clothes fun experience black light take home small sapphires rainbow mud dirt finds
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2017

This mine has been very productive for me for 17 years. I have found many stones over 30 carats and two over 100 carats. Some have cut into beautiful cabs and I have sold some of them mounted in jewelry.
These are lavender to purple and some pink rubies and sapphires. Most are small chips which can be used in small necklace bottle or collected and placed in glass spice jars for display.
Do not rush the cleaning process when you go to this mine.
This is not a true "mine" as the buckets are filled from the hillside behind the shop. Tiffany and American Gem prospected this many years ago and moved a lot of dirt when they opened the original mine and that is what constitutes the dirt in the buckets. They did not find a source for the stones and abandoned the area.

Date of experience: August 2017
4  Thank rockdoctor48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We brought our kids here as our friends recommended it to is. Took us forever to find it and when we finally did, they did not accept credit cards so we had to turn around and get cash. Only reason we returned is bc our kids really wanted to go. They did enjoy there time. The rainbow bucket is definitely the more "fun" bucket. It has all sorts of pretty stones ( large and small) Lots of varieties. The nature bucket had slivers of rubies but my older child preferred the rainbow bucket and she is 14... never too old to get the "kid" bucket.
Overall it was a fun experience for the kids, however next time I will probably give another place a try.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We went today and had a great time. The guys there were extra helpful and extremely knowledgeable! My 8 and 10 year old started with a native bucket first and then tried a salted rainbow bucket. The adults stuck with the native buckets and one of us even found a 40.5 carat ruby. We highly recommend over all the commercialized roadside shops you pass along the highway. We are planning to return again!!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

A true native mining experience when you purchase buckets of dirt from the mine. The mine is knwn for rubies and the men who run the mine are very helpful in helping you identify any rubies you have found. Expect to get dirty so wear old clothes and shoes. The flume sits in front of a pond filled with lovely water lilies and the sound of frogs croaking is very soothing. For those who are not interested in mining native soil, buckets of salted soil can be purchased in which various gemstones finds are guaranteed.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank minerakl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We have been visiting this mine for several years when we visit this area and they are always the friendliest and most knowledgeable in the area. They are always ready to help you with what you have found and let you know if they are gems or street gravel! Always a pleasure to visit this mine.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews