We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“we finally found our perfect spot!”

Review of Rozgonyi Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Emerald Isle, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LCS201320...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

After having stayed at Rozgonyi Cottage for the past three weeks, I can't understand how previous reviews written only a couple of months ago can be so positive. While the location on the beach is perfect and the pool is very nice, the house is in need of major work. The house needs a serious clean, not just a few hours between tenants each week. The tip off should have been when we arrived to find a set mouse trap in the bathroom. Had my 16 month old son found it before I did, we could have had a serious injury! Speaking of injuries, the grease on the gas grill is so thick and the overflow container literally overflowing! It looked like it had never been cleaned...so we had to do it in order to avoid a potential fire. The carpet is very old, dirty and needs to be replaced. Much of the house is dirty and worse yet, it's infested with Argentinian ants that are so small, you can't even see them when they are on food. We had to throw away such a large amount of food due to these ants. Hundreds of ants even managed to find their way into a box of completely sealed salt water taffy in a bedroom drawer upstairs . The focus of cooking in the kitchen shouldn't be to constantly check every plate, bowl and the counter to make sure ants don't get in the food. Despite someone coming to spray about half way through our stay, the ants quickly returned with a vengeance. They are coming in from behind electrical sockets and through holes in the corners of walls. More extensive extermination is definitely needed. We also had a cockroach problem in the house too. The bed linens are also poor. When we arrived, there were no blankets (in an air conditioned house that sleeps 10!) and the bedspreads in the bedrooms were clearly old and soiled. The pull out sofa in the basement area is also broken. This could be a fabulous rental if the owners put some much needed time and money into the place but it's obvious that hasn't happened in many many years. For $20,000 (for 3 weeks), the current state of the place is unacceptable.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location on the beach and the pool
Liked least: The ants and how dirty the property was
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Aug 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at Rozgonyi and for your suggestions. I am sorry you were disappointed in the cleanliness of the home and we certainly work with the owner to address each item you mentioned. I hope you and your family did enjoy the beach and the gorgeous views from the decks of Rozgonyi Cottage. Please call us when you're ready to make plans for your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IL
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jun 2013
It pleases me to know that you and your family have found your home away from home. I'm further pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay despite some maintenance items that needed attention and I'm happy to know that our maintenance team was able to quickly remedy those things for you. Please call us if we can further assist you as your plan your 2014 stay at Rozgonyi Cottage - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
Reviewed 13 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Apr 2013
I hope you do come back every year! Rozgonyi Cottage has so much to offer the family's who choose to vacation there. The pool, hot tub, magnificent Ocean views, and great spaces within this home set the stage for a wonderful family vacation. I'm glad this was your experience. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation and we'll happily reserve Rozgonyi Cottage for you again - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Poolesville MD
Reviewed 2 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Aug 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Rozgonyi Cottage and for your kind compliments of Emerald Isle Realty, it staff, and services. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed your vacation and I hope you will return soon. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next trip to Emerald Isle - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing