We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome as usual!!!”

Review of Dunescrest West

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Emerald Isle, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andreahG5...
1 review
“It was...okay”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was my second stay with Emerald Isle Realty, first time in this property. I'll start with the positive things:. The view is fantastic, we saw dolphins almost every morning;. The location on the island is wonderful, not too close to the boardwalk (gets a little trashy down there) and very close to shopping. Public beach access was a couple houses down but it didn't seem to be used a lot; there is a washer and dryer downstairs;. Kitchen was well stocked for a vacation home; decks are brand new and very nice; love the laminate floors. The negatives: stairs, stairs, stairs! It's a raised house of course, with a reverse floor plan (one bedroom upstairs), and it's several flights down to the beach; the condition of the interior was frumpy and it looked like an amateur handyman had done most of the work; the LR seating was some of the most uncomfortable I have ever sat on and it wasn't clean; and last but not least the water reeks of sulfur. According to the local water companies website, it's a problem with the house, not the water. Not sure if that's true or not but something really needs to be done about it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Families with young children
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review of your stay at Dunescrest West. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed the location and views that this home boasts. As you mentioned, the two levels of Dunescrest West are accessed by steps. There are twenty steps leading to the entrance/first level and eighteen steps from the first level to the second level. As for the water, the water company has taken steps to improve the taste quality, but it has been my experience that it can be an acquired taste.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in 2017!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 May 2017
Thank you for your review. I agree that the view from Dunescrest West is wonderful, and it is true that the view gets better and better as you go higher. We look forward to having you again as our guest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Dunescrest West. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment in this home and have requested that our maintenance department inspect the windows. Unfortunately, due to our location, internet can be intermittent at times. I hope you and your family enjoyed your time on the beaches of Emerald Isle and will return for your next vacation. Please call us if we can assist in your planning - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LA
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elizabeth PA
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing