We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for what we needed!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Emerald Isle, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
R1496PUch...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smelly and Run Down”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We rented this house for 2 nights and we were thankful that it wasn't for any longer. The location of the house is great, second row with beach access directly across the street. The property looks run down when you pull up to it and we barely had enough room to part a prius without the back end hanging into the street. When we first entered the house we noticed an unpleasant odor immediately. It was prevalent the whole time we were there. The shower was mildewed and caulk was hanging off behind the kitchen sink. A bedspread was ripped and batting was falling out. The house is a decent layout but it's hard to eat in the kitchen while someone is cooking or preparing food because of the island layout. Some of the items we pulled out of the kitchen cabinets were dirty. Our wi-fi access was cut off early in the morning before we checked out (which we did on time at 10:00am.) I would not rent this place again. Too pricey for the run down, smelly condition it was in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2017
Thank you for letting us know that some items at this home need attention. Please don't hesitate to report such things during your stay so we can work to remedy them for you instead of after you have checked out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriental, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Thank you for your feedback. Duplexes are separated by a "party wall" and the habits and noise level can vary between guests. I hope your family did enjoy their time in Emerald Isle and weren't effected too badly by this. The beach access from this duplex is easy, perhaps even more so than that of some Oceanfront homes. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I hope you will choose Emerald Isle as the location for your next family reunion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jensmith2...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location nice.. But”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Home had a very bad smell, which was noticable the minute we opened the door. Air conditioner broke and home drastically needs updating and new paint. Location is great. Would recommend hardwood, laminate or tile flooring (something cleanable) in a pet friendly unit. We left a day early...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2017
Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. I'm sorry to hear that you cut your stay short. Please let us know of anything that detracts from your enjoyment while staying with us so we can work to ensure you have a relaxing vacation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaGoo...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lots of potential needs work”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This property could be a real gem. The location is great and the layout is fine. But the place has a horrible smell. It is not a pet odor. It is a musty smell. We were requested to not open the windows which we ignored. We also bought candles and Febreeze. Tons of ants in the kitchen. Walls were filthy and could use paint

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2017
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. I am sorry to hear of the odor you encountered while staying at this home. On occasion the musty smell you described can occur by windows left open and humidity entering the home creating condensation and eventually mildew. This is something our housekeeping department is happy to help remedy so should you encounter this again, please let us know.

I do agree with you that the layout and location of Surf and Sound is ideal, and I hope you will come and stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing