We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pebble Beach is great, just make sure you do your research!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Emerald Isle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pebble Beach Condominiums
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Pebble Beach condos are an oceanfront community that is close to everything in Emerald Isle. The complex is slowly being remodeled and will be a premier property once completed. Like most 30 year old homes, PB and the units needs updating and renovating. Most of the individual unit owners have gotten that message and are gutting the inside of the units and redoing them top to bottom. With that said, it is very important to check out the individual unit you want to rent. Ask if the pictures are recent. If the unit is dirty, request that the rental agency send someone to clean immediately. We stay in D204. This unit is oceanfront 3 BR and has been remodeled. It overlooks one of the pools and the green area that includes grills and picnic tables. You can relax on the porch while your kids play below. Do not let other bad reviews scare you aways. PB has one of the prettiest beaches on Emerald Isle. The have 3 pools (one is indoors), tennis, boardwalk to the beach, security and is gated. Fall is the best time to visit. The weather is perfect and it is not crowded.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 1stategirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

The pictures are from many years ago when the condos actually looked nice. We rented D106, the pungent smell of mold and mildew gave induced an asthma attack, the condo was filthy with dirt and the blinds were covered with mold and mildew and rust. It took us couple of hours to finally get a hold of someone at their "emergency phone number". Another couple of hours for them to send people and confirm that the condo was a health hazard. The second condo that they gave us, A108, did not smell but was filthy with mold, mildew, dirty rugs, dirty bathrooms etc. The dishes are filthy and you would not even have your dogs eat from them. The rental manager is a bullying and lying individual. We had flown in and then driven for our beach vacation and did not want to have it completely ruined. We had to scrub and sanitize the unit for several hours to be able to stay in the unit. We were here to look at buying a beach property in the beautiful beaches on NC. But after what we saw with the rude people and dirty property, we decided to never come back. The property owners should expect more of the management as they are being charged a hefty fee.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WorldTravelerBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I was extremely surprised by the unit. To get inside you need to enter through a “communal” hallway. It is filthy and reeks. When I opened the door to the hallway I wanted to leave, but the condo unit could have been a totally different story. Unfortunately, it was not. The condo is nothing like the photos. Not a single element, except for a countertop microwave and 17 inch flat screen TV in the living room – the only TV in the unit, has been changed in the condo since it was built in what I think is sometime in the late 80’s or early 90’s. The walls are covered in 30 years of use, and the wallpaper is peeling. The carpet completely faded and stained. The bathroom ceiling is literally falling down. The few utensils and dishes in the unit are horrible. The window covering are the cheapest possible and the vertical blinds are missing pieces. I would have immediately left, but there are no refunds etc. The rental agency, Bluewater, was very easy to use and the rental process and subsiquent customer service was quite good. The complex is nice and well kept for the most part. It’s close to the ocean, and there a pool, tennis courts, fitness room, etc. But I strongly recommend not staying in this unit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kumack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Bluewater was easy to work with. The drive through check in & out were a breeze. I would use this agency again, but next year we will not go back to Pebble Beach Condos.

We stayed in B-204, a 3 bedroom 2 bath unit that was one building from the beach. While we all really enjoyed the condo amenities (3 pools and the sauna) we did not enjoy the condo lifestyle. The condo appeared to be updated from the photos, which is why we chose that particular unit. When we first walked into the unit, it was not clean. The counters were covered in crumbs & food, the floors were sticky and there was mold and mildew throughout the bathrooms. I called Bluewater and they did send a cleaning crew over (the next day though).

While the furniture and carpets were newer, the mattresses were not! The master bedroom mattress was very old, sagging and uncomfortable. How disappointing. The washer and dryer were older and the dryer took 3-4 cycles to get the towels dry.

The kids were very happy with their rooms. They liked the tv and the beds.

The biggest issue we all had with the condo was the noise from upstairs in the unit directly above. Just walking across the floor was very loud. We could hear voices and the porch sliding door every single time it opened & closed. Unless you are used to this type of living quarters, I recommend a third floor unit.

We had planned to cook in at least 3 or 4 dinners but could not. The dishes and silverware were all coated in water stains and food. I had to buy plastic plates/cups/bowls/forks to use because no one would touch what was provided. New silverware and dishes should be put in that unit.

Emerald Isle was lovely. The bike paths throughout the island made it easy and fun to go places. The people were great and the wide beaches were gorgeous. We will definitely be back, just in a house.

Room Tip: Top floor unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank arg57718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We had a wonderful family vacation here. We stayed in C203 and would happily choose this unit again. It was clean, attractive, and quiet. A lamp was already broken when we got there, but a repairman came immediately and disposed of it. after attempting to repair it. The outside of the complex is being renovated, which was needed. We enjoyed the pool, tennis coursts, gazebo, and ocean view. I also felt secure, and the price was great off-season. I hope we'll go back!

The only complaint I have was that the wireless internet was not available the last evening or the next morning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaMotram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pebble Beach Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pebble Beach Condominiums

Address: 9201 Coast Guard Rd, PO Box 4353, Emerald Isle, NC 28594-2432
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Emerald Isle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Emerald Isle
Number of rooms: 228
Also Known As:
Pebble Beach Condominiums Hotel Emerald Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing