We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
18
26
18
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
26
18
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom catch of the day main building long drive arrived late free wifi small shop comfortable beds the owner wifi works westfjords reykjavik cottage wonders noise sink gateway
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017

No frills hotel in the middle of nowhere with stunning views all around; similar to staying in a U.S. National Park property with spartan amenities. Our en suite room had comfortable beds, was very clean with good black-out shades. The towels had no fabric softener, were over bleached and hard – one area for improvement. Breakfast was very sparse. We arrived late and reception was kind enough to keep the bar open to get a few beers and unwind. We enjoyed our beers in the commons area and chatting with the employees. Although the hotel is very remote and bare-bones for what you pay, it was an essential location placement for our trip plans and getting to the bird cliffs.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NekoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabet A, Manager at Thomsen Bjarkalundur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear Neko,
Thank You for Your Comments!
We highly appreciate the time and effort you have spent to share your insightful comments, which will be seriously considered and adequately implemented.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The hotel is outdated, so everything inside is. Rooms are very small and decorated with stuff coming out from my grandma's garage. The beds are very uncomfortable and the walls are so thin we couldn't sleep because of a guy snoring 2 rooms away from ours!
In the shared bathroom there's just one shower, luckily there weren't many people in the hotel so we didn't have to wait long.
The food was nothing extraordinary, but the staff were very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Rather pay for a private bathroom room or rent a bungalow, rooms with shared bathroom are not really OK
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alejo_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabet A, Manager at Thomsen Bjarkalundur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank You for Your Comments!
We highly appreciate the time and effort you have spent to share your insightful comments, which will be seriously considered and adequately implemented.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We stayed for two nights. The location is quite good as starting point for various possible westfjord daytrips. You can even get to Latrabjarg in one day if you're willing to drive for a long time.

Food was quite good, and really affordable for Icelandic standards. Restaurant service was good as well.

The hotel looks a little outdated, our room was very small with shared bathroom. We don't have a problem with either of these things. We knew all of that when we booked it. And as it was all reasonably clean, this is not a thing we are picky about.

So our first impressions were really nice to sum it up.

But the real bummer is that there is literally no noise isolation at all. I do not lie when I say that I sometimes had the feeling that the walls and floors even amplified everything that was going on outside. Our room was directly opposite to the shared bathrooms. Combine this with the fact that the hotel frequently hosts roadmen/construction workers who improve the roads in the westfjords during summer, and you will get a really unacceptable level of noise. They returned at midnight and were drinking, laughing and yelling until 2'o clock. Probably longer if I didn't go outside to complain to them directly. During the whole night there were still people walking by (and it sounded as if they walked directly next to your bed) but luckily with no further yelling. So I literally got 2-3 hours of sleep even though we went to bed at 11:30 and got up at 07:30

Luckily the staff was very understanding the next day and we could switch our room for a cottage which would have been way more expensive normally. But seriously... the first night was a real no go, so I just can't give it more than 3/5. The first night would have been 1/5. I will give one extra point for friendly service and nice food and one extra point for the cottage we got for the second night. I am very sure that we were not the first people with the noise issue. Just to make it very clear: I never complained about noise to hotel staff before, and if it's moderate I don't even care or mention it in a review.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PHM-1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabet A, Manager at Thomsen Bjarkalundur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank You for Your Comments!
We highly appreciate the time and effort you have spent to share your insightful comments, which will be seriously considered and adequately implemented.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Obviously knew that competition was lacking in this remote area but what this place gets away with is too much. The entire place is very dated. Circa 1960s. The room here was equally dated. Wifi was poor. Windows face a parking area. Almost hoped we could make the 2.5 hour drive back to Reykjavik when I saw the place but was concerned about driving back in the dark after a 12 hour driving day. Felt totally ripped off. My luxurious one bedroom apt in Reykjavik is cheaper.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank effieQueens_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabet A, Manager at Thomsen Bjarkalundur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank You for Your Comments!
We highly appreciate the time and effort you have spent to share your insightful comments, which will be seriously considered and adequately implemented.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We had three rooms one double with our own bathroom and two singles with a shared bathroom . This meant there was a female bathroom and a male bathroom. This may not suit everyone but it was all we could find as it was peak season. The staff were great, the evening meal and breakfast was very adequate. They also allowed us to make sandwiches for our day from all the bread and meat etc. in the breakfast table and the charge was minimal. Sandwiches or some form of food for the day was required as there are not always shops for a meal. Anyway we would stay there again when we go back. There was small shop for groceries. The room were clean and a reasonable size.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank anythingbutzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabet A, Manager at Thomsen Bjarkalundur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank You for Your Comments!
We highly appreciate the time and effort you have spent to share your insightful comments, which will be seriously considered and adequately implemented.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews