We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The Potting Shed is situated in a rural hamlet 3 miles from Buxton.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Potting Shed is situated in a rural hamlet 3 miles from Buxton.
Drive entrance, turn immediately right through the wooden gate. Relax in the garden and enjoy the views or explore the beautiful Peak District National Park.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Potting Shed is situated in a rural hamlet 3 miles from Buxton.
Drive entrance, turn immediately right through the wooden gate.
Relax in the garden and enjoy the views or explore the beautiful Peak District National Park.
We have many garden birds visiting the feeders.
Enjoy views of the beautiful Derbyshire countryside from the dining table.
The wood burning stove helps create a cosy atmosphere when it’s cold outside.
We provide a starter pack for the fire and logs can be bought from our caretaker.
Please ask if you need the high chair.
The kitchen is well equipped for family dining.
The double bedroom looks out onto the garden and countryside.
We can provide a travel cot if needed.
The bathroom has a shower over the bath.
The hare-themed twin bedroom. Hares can frequently be seen in the locality.
All rooms face the front of the cottage.
You’re welcome to store your bikes in the games room.
As well as the pool and football table we have toys, games, books, puzzles and dvds for you to enjoy
There is an extensive network of bridleways and green lanes that can be accessed from Wormhill.
We accept up to two dogs.
Take in the view and relax on the decking area.
Early morning mist taken from the garden, August 2016.
Decking area and garden where you can relax and dine. There is a barbeque for outdoor cooking.
We provide a washing machine and tumble drier as well as an outdoor clothes line.
Original Victorian features of the old walled garden.
The driveway leading away from the cottage.
Autumn morning view from the cottage.
Entrance pillar to The Potting Shed. The cottage used to be part of Hargate Hall.
Autumn view from the cottage.
Looking towards Hargate from the front garden.
Rural views from the front garden - looking towards Mam Tor..
James Brindley Memorial Well Wormhill where a traditional well dressing can be seen last week in Aug
Wormhill well dressing 2016.
The Cascade at nearby Chatsworth House, Bakewell.
The Monsal Trail at Millers Dale about a mile from the Potting Shed.
Tideswell is the nearest village - 2 miles away. Tideswell Church know as the Cathedral of the Peak
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wormhill, Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jameela C
1 review
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a lovely 2 nights stay. The cottage is very clean and well equipped, we loved the idea of a games room! Very good location for visiting the beautiful peak district. We particularly enjoyed visiting Chatsworth house which was a short car journey from the cottage. We hope to visit again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2018
Thank you Jameela for taking the time to provide feedback. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and got to visit Chatsworth which is well worth visiting again. The games room is a new addition so I’m pleased you liked it. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Barrie...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location , location , location ,”
Reviewed 2 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My friends , their two dogs and I had a lovely holiday in the Peak District with the comfortable and well equipped Potting Shed as our base . If it's beautiful scenery your after this is the place to be with the rolling hills stretching into the distance as far the eye can see , all viewable from every window of this exellent location ! Classic Peak District venues all just a short drive away and a wood burning fire to cozy up to in the evening .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for taking time to provide feedback on your stay. I’m delighted you were so happy in the cottage and enjoyed the location. Thanks again, much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenic312...
1 review
“Beautiful little place”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Loved our stay, first time staying in a cottage and it was lovely, the views are beautiful.

Tony was a great help.

Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
Thank you for your lovely feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed your first stay in a holiday cottage. I hope to welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb property”
Reviewed 30 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The location is great, 2 mikes from Mikkers Dale and the Monsall trail. The view from the lounge and bedroom couldn't be bettered. I have rarely stayed in a property that was so well equipped, simply everything was to hand. Very friendly welcome from Tony. I did not want to leave.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
Thanks so much Margaret for your kind words and I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. We don’t want to leave either when we stay! I hope to welcome you back one day and thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper W
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Home from home....”
Reviewed 7 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Was in need of few days away with 2 teens and our dog in the Peaks. We were let down elsewhere but we found the Potting shed, the views sold it for me and perfectly situated for walking the dog & trips out. Tideswell is 2miles away via Summer Cross, great Fisn n chips or for a loaf & a pint! But also has an interesting history, so one of my children rightly filled me in as I qued for fish n chips.

The Potting shed is clean and extremely cosy, I found myself daydreaming out across the peaks from the armchair with a cuppa in one hand, dog in front of the log burner & children in the games room after a half day walking the Monsal trail! Which, you can pick the trail up 2.5 miles away at nearby Millers Dale (Great pub too Anglers Rest).
Ohh did I say, Games room, yes and what a fabulous idea, especially if there are days where the British weather stays rather wet!! There is Snooker table (not full size) but teenagers enjoyed it, Table football where a lot of best of 3 was ongoing! Board games, toys for younger and Rocking horse with the views to match.
Ohhh and music centre that you easily plug your phone into not forgetting the Dart board.
The cottage is extremely well equipped including boot/laundry room. Bedrooms are clean & lovely decor. Bathroom is bright, clean and water piping hot for a shower or a bath..
Kitchen has everything you need, plenty of reading material on the surrounding area and in the Peaks.
Garden to the front isn't secure so dogs kept on lead for everyone's safety. This is due to drive way is one way in and you leave via front of the property out through gate that is open. Fab size, lovely seating area and warmer months the BBQ would be great. A Woodpecker, finches and a beautiful sparrow hawk greeted us every morning for breakfast.
The cottage is extremely warm and wood is supplied necessary for your stay. Tony the caretaker greeted us and gave us a warm welcome.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback and I'm delighted you had such a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing