We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
The Potting Shed is situated in a rural hamlet 3 miles from Buxton.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Potting Shed is situated in a rural hamlet 3 miles from Buxton.
Drive entrance, turn immediately right through the wooden gate. Relax in the garden and enjoy the views or explore the beautiful Peak District National Park.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Potting Shed is situated in a rural hamlet 3 miles from Buxton.
Drive entrance, turn immediately right through the wooden gate.
Relax in the garden and enjoy the views or explore the beautiful Peak District National Park.
We have many garden birds visiting the feeders.
Enjoy views of the beautiful Derbyshire countryside from the dining table.
The wood burning stove helps create a cosy atmosphere when it’s cold outside.
We provide a starter pack for the fire and logs can be bought from our caretaker.
Please ask if you need the high chair.
The kitchen is well equipped for family dining.
The double bedroom looks out onto the garden and countryside.
We can provide a travel cot if needed.
The bathroom has a shower over the bath.
The hare-themed twin bedroom. Hares can frequently be seen in the locality.
All rooms face the front of the cottage.
You’re welcome to store your bikes in the games room.
As well as the pool and football table we have toys, games, books, puzzles and dvds for you to enjoy
There is an extensive network of bridleways and green lanes that can be accessed from Wormhill.
We accept up to two dogs.
Take in the view and relax on the decking area.
Early morning mist taken from the garden, August 2016.
Decking area and garden where you can relax and dine. There is a barbeque for outdoor cooking.
We provide a washing machine and tumble drier as well as an outdoor clothes line.
Original Victorian features of the old walled garden.
The driveway leading away from the cottage.
Autumn morning view from the cottage.
Entrance pillar to The Potting Shed. The cottage used to be part of Hargate Hall.
Autumn view from the cottage.
Looking towards Hargate from the front garden.
Rural views from the front garden - looking towards Mam Tor..
James Brindley Memorial Well Wormhill where a traditional well dressing can be seen last week in Aug
Wormhill well dressing 2016.
The Cascade at nearby Chatsworth House, Bakewell.
The Monsal Trail at Millers Dale about a mile from the Potting Shed.
Tideswell is the nearest village - 2 miles away. Tideswell Church know as the Cathedral of the Peak
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wormhill, Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
514Carol
Romford
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved the cottage and the area. The cottage had absolutely everything we needed and we would not hesitate to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
So pleased you loved the cottage and area. Thank you for booking with us and your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faysy
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect space to see the stars”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from the Potting Shed for a wedding at the Hall. The shed id nothing like a shed. Its a beautiful cottage. The double bed was so very comfy. There's everything you need washer/dryer for those damp Summer days Fridge microwave cooker and dishwasher. The bunks were comfy and suitable for adult or child. There are plans to make the link to the Hall easier as that was the only negative I can give there is no easy walk through its a walk around the quiet country roads. Watching the stars with no light pollution was amazing. Would highly recommend and will be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I could move in tomorrow and live in that shed
Liked least: The walk round to the Hall
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
Thanks very much for your kind words and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. We keep making improvements to the accommodation and gardens so it's great to see our efforts are being appreciated. I hope the wedding went well and do get in touch if you'd like to make a return to the Potting Shed. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
2 reviews
“Perfect combination of comfort and beautiful location.”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The cottage was warm, cosy and comfortable, with lots of little extra touches, from the pint of milk in the fridge to the replenished bird feeders on the lawn. Everything functioned really well, and a good range of booklets and maps of the local area were provided. The view from the sitting room window was great, especially in the snow which we had not expected in late April. A great variety of lovely walks and the charming town of Buxton nearby. Cottage and location heartily recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the window in the snow
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and do get in touch if you would like to return at any point.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPE215
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent location with beautiful views and good standard accommodation”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The internal photos don't do it justice. All, clean, light and airy as well as comfortable and cosy. A destination that would offer different things for every season and with Wi-Fi available even the dedicated city dweller will not feel too remote. Bunk beds are comfortable and fine for adults as well as a very stylish double room. I would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: difficult to find in the dark
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind words about the cottage and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are making improvements all the time to the cottage so it's great to see our efforts are appreciated! Yes photos are an issue and we will take steps to improve them. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. Your feedback is appreciated, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing