We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Remote, Quiet, Beautiful

Pettigrew Park is way off the beaten path but worth it for kayaking, camping, fishing and swimming... read more

Reviewed 12 December 2018
GypsyInTheClouds
Hidden historical gem.

We camped 1 night, plenty wildlife, beautiful scenery, long boardwalk thu forest. Hugh trees with... read more

Reviewed 10 June 2018
tekoanme
via mobile
Read all 31 reviews
  
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
17
9
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
9
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ramp camping area visitor center ranger plantation wildlife campground fishing sites picnic hike snakes woods somerset trees
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

The camping area has nice wooded campsites. The bathrooms and showers are clean. The lake is awesome. There are great walking areas and two piers. We did not have a boat but their is a well maintained boat ramp. Checking in was easy and pets are allowed no charge. They do not have any hook ups so this is dry camping in our motorhome.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

This little park is nice, quiet, beautiful and peaceful.....but if you are using an RV to camp here stay clear of site #1. It's a nice large site but the driveway to get into it is narrow because of a very large tree. The worst part are the tree's roots which are in the driveway and near impossible to back an RV over them without ripping your bumper off. Other than that, this park is wonderful even though it's small and has no hookups.

Date of experience: April 2017
3  Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

I visited the park for the annual Audubon Christmas Bird Count on December 27, 2016. Even though I'm a native and lifelong resident of North Carolina, I had not visited this park or Lake Phelps before. I was very impressed with the diversity of wildlife and birds, in particular. Our group counted about 65 different bird species. The highlight was a Great Horned Owl perched on a tree limb near one of the paths. I'd highly recommend the park and lake for anyone with a keen interest in birding and other wildlife.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank moeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

We camped here for 3 nights over the Thanksgiving holiday. A beautiful, peaceful, quiet place for people who love nature as we do. The campground is small and basic with no hookups but the bathroom is super clean with nice hot showers. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Located right on Lake Phelps in a beautiful old growth forest of towering baldcypress. A nice boardwalk with several overlooks along the lakeshore runs from the campground. Great fishing if you bring a boat and also great for stargazing since it is in a very remote area with no light pollution. Also a great spot for birding, particularly during the fall and winter when flocks of swans, geese, and other waterfowl use the lake and nearby farm fields for roosting and feeding.

Definitely worth spending time here during any season if nature immersion is your thing.

Date of experience: November 2016
2  Thank 479merrilll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

I feel like it was hard to find the information I needed to visit this park. We did have a picnic here after visiting the Somerset plantation. We were hoping to be able to swim, paddle boat, canoe or kayak but options were very limited. We were told to drive around the lake to kayak rental. When we arrived there the shop was closed. When we circled back they were open but the owner to rent the kayaks wasn't there. We were provided with a phone number. There are only 8 kayaks and all single person, which isn't realistic with many children under 10. This park has such potential of being an amazing place but just not reliable activities available.

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank carrielynnethen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews