We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Remote, Quiet, Beautiful

Pettigrew Park is way off the beaten path but worth it for kayaking, camping, fishing and swimming... read more

Reviewed 12 December 2018
GypsyInTheClouds
Hidden historical gem.

We camped 1 night, plenty wildlife, beautiful scenery, long boardwalk thu forest. Hugh trees with... read more

Reviewed 10 June 2018
tekoanme
via mobile
Read all 31 reviews
  
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
17
9
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
9
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ramp camping area visitor center ranger plantation wildlife campground fishing sites picnic hike snakes woods somerset trees
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016

I feel like it was hard to find the information I needed to visit this park. We did have a picnic here after visiting the Somerset plantation. We were hoping to be able to swim, paddle boat, canoe or kayak but options were very limited. We were told to drive around the lake to kayak rental. When we arrived there the shop was closed. When we circled back they were open but the owner to rent the kayaks wasn't there. We were provided with a phone number. There are only 8 kayaks and all single person, which isn't realistic with many children under 10. This park has such potential of being an amazing place but just not reliable activities available.

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank carrielynnethen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

If you park at the park office, and walk past all the picnic tables, there is a very nice boardwalk to your left. Off this boardwalk, is a short boardwalk to a dock with 2 benches and ladders to go down into the shallow, clear water with a sandy bottom to swim! If you follow boardwalk to the end, you end up at Somerset Place, which is well worth a visit!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank momdzall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

I was only there for a few moments, but didn't see anything other than a boat ramp. I did see a camping area and some picnic tables, but that was pretty much all.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

On a road trip and stopped here for picnic. Park is small but the staff are friendly.

Lots of picnic tables with a shelter and water. Short walk to Phelps Lake which is the second largest natural lake in NC. Saw lots of turtles and fish,

Checked out the camp grounds. The family camp ground is small but nice. Good size bathhouse with showers. The group camp site is small with almost no parking.

The office manager said they also have a swimming area along with launch ramps for boats.

Nice place to visit if you are in the area.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

Very small campground. Well maintained.This campground has no water, electric, or sewer hookups. There are water spigots to use.
Bathrooms have clean showers.
Just a very short wide groomed walking trail to Sumerset Plantation. This is worth the guided tour of buildings and homestead.
The tour guide was very knowledgeable describing the history of the area.
We stayed four days so we could travel the area, including Vape Hatteres and Kill Devil Hills aka Kitty Hawk.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews