We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood - just okay”

Fat Crabs Rib Co. & Seafood Shack
Ranked #15 of 87 Restaurants in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 7 - USD 45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Super casual restaurant with friendly , family atmosphere. Serving slow cooked BBQ and fresh seafood daily / Open early March til late October
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We ate here on Sunday 10-01, we had a group of 11. Restaurant is small so we were crowded. I had seafood and it was okay. Other members of our group had BBQ and thought it was really good.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Was disappointed last year, but the restaurant seemed cleaner and nicer this year. THe ony complaint is the DOG! Why is there a dog in the restaurant?? Some people might be allergic!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Happened to be in the plaza looking for somewhere to eat and saw Fat Crabs Rib Co. So glad we did. The Oyster Po'Boy was just outstanding. The oysters were perfectly sweet and crisp (not chewy or overdone). The "Corolla" platter was amazing and great to share. And the cornbread was delicious. Of course the Blue Crab Chowder is not to be missed. A flavorful, not to creamy chowder it was a perfect way to start the meal. This isn't a fancy place, but that's what makes it charming. If you are in Corolla, be sure to stop by and enjoy the variety of seafood. Didn't try the BBQ meals, but if the seafood is any indication, it's got to be finger licking good. Can't wait to go back to Corolla next summer and try

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We wanted seafood and we wanted to cook it at our rental, so we got a steamer pot to go. Wow! So easy and the seafood selection was great. The clams and mussels were plump the crab legs were huge and the corn was sweet and crisp. It was a great meal, so before we left, we went back again!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

I had the crab legs which were excellent and my husband had the pulled pork which he loved. Served very casually in a small place that also has a large take out menu. The only issue I had was the amount of plastic that was used for our meal. Plastic utensils, plastic drinking cups, meal served on plastic dishes etc. Even the cole slaw (you get s\two sides with the meal) was served in a plastic bowl and set on a plastic dish! You know all this is going in the land fill so as someone who reuses, recycles and composts at home, this was very concerning to me. The food is fantastic - I just wish washable items were used instead of all that plastic.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LindyLoo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fat Crabs Rib Co. & Seafood Shack also viewed

 
Corolla, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to Fat Crabs Rib Co. & Seafood Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing