We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family dinner! ”
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Ranked #8 of 87 Restaurants in Corolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 30
Cuisines: Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Come get a taste of the sweet life ... In Corolla. Classic Italian dishes using family recipes including hand-tossed pizza, homemade sauces, bread and desserts. We are all about family, friends, good food and friendly service. Hope to see you soon! Ciao! During the high season from Memorial Day to Labor Day, we offer 30 minute call ahead seating. Before Memorial Day & after Labor Day we will be happy to take your reservation!
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

It was very hot yesterday and we had our fill of seafood so we wanted Italian. We went super early (510 pm). There was a 75 minute wait to sit inside. We left and went shopping came back and had a fantastic meal. Kids got a pizza and my wife and I really enjoyed our dishes. Highly recommend. Very tasty and authentic Italian.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank DouglasA902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

In season, no reservations, but you can call ahead. We were seated 25 minutes after our scheduled arrival time. Not a good start...the place is small. Fed the turtles to pass the time. We chose to eat outside in the deck area which holds about 16 guests comfortably. It was still rather warm at 7:15pm. I was also concerned about "bugs", as it is close to the water, but it was fine. I would suggest the table umbrellas allow a tilt so you can get out of the sun.

Drinks, appetizer(cheese sticks), soups & salads arrived quickly. The main course took longer than I would expect, even at the OBX. The crab & asparagus soup was delicious & a large serving. We all ordered the shrimp/crab penne in a sunrise vodka cream sauce. It was very good & plentiful...I would order it again. In our opinion, it wasn't a true vodka "cream" sauce but more of a slightly spicy marinara with tasty chunks of tomato. Crab/shrimp was well represented. We skipped dessert & opted for ice cream elsewhere.

I was satisfied with the overall experience, really a 3.5, except for the delivery time of the entree.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Thruball90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We were looking for something other than seafood one night so we stopped here. I recommend getting the calamari and pizza. Both were very delicious and our wait staff was very friendly.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Paradise079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We had a group of 7; not much of a wait at all. Small location; plenty of staff that were all attentive. However, had to ask for drinks multiple times, pizza came extremely burnt and had to send back to kitchen; slow with refill of water and asking for drink refills.

Food portions were large; asked for it to be boxed up. Multiple people gave their plates to be packaged to go and it was returned in a bag with 3-4 containers in a bag - so you had to figure out who's dinner it was (more than 1 person got the same meal)

Overall B-

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank RHBO5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We dine in and/or carry out from here a few times a month. The pizza is the best we have had in the area, and their pasta's are amazing. Excellent staff and management!

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank Bieniek9106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

Corolla, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing