We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Terrible
1 review
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Corolla, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Terrible - based on 1 review
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

jaxb
VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“In much need of TLC”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We love the OBX and were loyally fans of Corolla Classic Vacations (CCV) for about 15 years. When we married in the OBX years ago, we rented multiple homes through their office knowing we would have a smooth experience, and we did. The office used to be very responsive whenever we experienced concerns regarding a property we rented. That all changed this fall as we rented a home the week of September 3. We arrived the day after a tropical storm came through town causing visible damage to many homes. Our review takes into consideration the storm troubles.

Upon arrival at our rental PI155 - These are the Days we immediately observed many areas in need of housekeeping attention: crumbs still on the kitchen table, fingerprints on the stainless steel refrigerator, hair on the floors of all the bathrooms, dirty bathroom rugs, a contact lens on the bathroom floor, and glittered acrylic fingernails with human nails attached on the floor of my toddler's bedroom floor (yes, he found them). On the outside of the home we observed many maintenance items in need of repair or clean up: broken glass bottles, rusty bottle caps, rusty nails in the driveway and around the pool deck, 7 wasp nests in the deck levels, and a broken hammock. The pool was filled with leaves, dirt, and shingles from the storm.

On our first day, we called CCV regarding the cleanliness and maintenance needs of the home. We provided a specific list of the items needing to be cleaned. Someone did come back to clean the next day, however all the same dirt listed above still remained. Instead of calling the office again, we spent our vacation cleaning other people's filth so we felt a bit more comfortable during our stay. At one point we considered moving to a hotel, but decided to "tough it out" considering what we paid for the rental.

A few days into our vacation I walked into my child's room and found a PLASTIC BAG OF DRUGS lying next to my son's bed. There were 9 pills of a controlled drug used to treat ADHD easily accessible to my son in a plastic bag. As a note, these were not ours. We were horrified at the thought of what could have happened. With drugs in hand, I drove up to the office to file a complaint. The two ladies at the front desk were sympathetic and courteous but weren't able to provide resolution nor did they express any urgency in trying make things right. Instead I was told I could reach the manager on Monday the following week.

After I sent a follow up email documenting our experience we did hear from the manager a few weeks later, Mary provided a 2 sentence "sorry for your inconvenience" email with a small refund. After I sent another email follow up, we received another short email stating they already processed the small refund. We didn't receive the excellent customer service from CCV they state on their website. Mary's response, or lack of response is very disappointing. Next we called Nancy who said she had to research the events and would call us back. We have yet to hear from her.

We expressed a variety of major issues with our stay, and we couldn't even be extended a phone call or more than a two line email response. I would like to stress that what we experienced, was not an inconvenience, it was dangerous to our child.
We selected PI155 - These are the Days for our vacation based on features that we thought we would be able to enjoy. Instead, the house turned out to be dirty, unsafe, and multiple features completely unusable to us during our stay. We didn't receive the service/accommodations that we paid for and for that we wanted to do what we could to ensure other families do not experience what we did with CCV and PI155.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the beach
Liked least: The filth and overall lack of maintenance of this property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corolla hotels

Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing