We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with friendly service”
Review of Old Rock Cafe

Old Rock Cafe
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 9
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Start the day off right with one of our signature biscuits, which are named after the places folks love to visit in the region. Whether you want a Bearwallow Bacon, Egg and Cheese Biscuit or a savory Florence Preserve Biscuits, we have something for you every Saturday and Sunday. During lunch, enjoy a local grassfed burger, grilled sandwiches, salads and fresh baked fruit cobblers at this down-to-earth diner located at the entrance to Chimney Rock State Park. Relax outdoors on the riverside deck with a great view of Chimney Rock and the Rocky Broad River rushing by. Try one of the local craft brews or sip on a glass of wine. Check out the memorabilia of the "Rock" covering the walls for a glimpse of what life was like here over the past 100 years.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We ate here on a spring break day trip to the area. Everyone ordered something different, and everything was freshly prepared, hot, and good. You order at the counter, and someone brings you your food. Service was fast. By the time we fixed our drinks, got condiments, and sat down, our food was arriving. It was plentiful...you may want to consider sharing if you don’t have a big appetite. There were “freshly baked cookies” in a basket by the register. This is NOT false advertising; in fact, the cookies were still warm! Yum!
My only complaint is that the meals were pretty pricey—$12 for a bacon cheeseburger and fries, $9 for 2 hot dogs and homemade chips. That didn’t include drinks.
There is a deck for outdoor dining in warm weather, and the deck has access to the river. Cute, clean, convenient location.

Thank catadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Old Rock Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Old Rock Cafe aims to please. We're glad you had time to stop in and try some of our signature dishes. Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2018

Good food, friendly service. Homemade seasoned chips, were very tasty. Would recommend for a nice lunch while visiting Chimney Rock.

Thank dions227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Old Rock Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

We're so glad you enjoyed your meal at our cafe. We pride ourselves in the quality of our foods. We'll pass along your kind words to our staff. Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

I had the chance to visit in February 2018 when the weather was warm - nearly 80 degrees! After an 80 mile motorcycle ride, the Old Rock Cafe was open for lunch. I warmly greeted at the Order Counter and asked about the Buffalo Chicken Wing Salad. It was available. I had the pleasure of having the back deck to myself for lunch. While the weather was warm, it was also windy. The salad was very tasty and the chicken had enough spice to make it pleasant. It was nice sitting on the back porch watching hikers use the trail near the stream. It's worth the stop for a good, friendly meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ratboy859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Old Rock Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

We're so glad you had a great experience and meal at our restaurant! Thank you for your review! We love hearing from customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Everything looks and smells delicious! After our hike we needed a bite to eat. I am on the isagenix diet so I enjoyed my shake but my fiancée ordered the Portabello mushroom sandwich served on a whole grain bun. He was impressed with the size and how delicious it was. Priced right at 8.79 with a side of cole slaw, we were glad we stopped here. Great river side outdoor seating and parking right in town made it even easier. Open till 4pm and offers a great menu for all. We will definitely be back!

Thank Mamabear1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Old Rock Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

We're so glad your fiance enjoyed his lunch and you guys had a chance to enjoy the restaurant's river views. Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is actually right outside the park gate, and state owned. Portions are large so my husband and I shared a lunch sandwich, fries and a drink and we paid 12 bucks! Great sandwich and it’s beside the river too! Its a must go! Very informal setting.

Thank Kimkay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChimneyRockPark, Public Relations Manager at Old Rock Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Kim,
We're glad you appreciated Old Rock's hearty portions. One of our sandwiches and sides can sometimes be too much for one person! We'll pass on your kind words to our chefs. They love hearing great things about the food they create. Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Rock Cafe also viewed

Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Chimney Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Old Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing