We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
508
95
16
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
508
95
16
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake lure air hockey outdoor fireplace broad river chimney rock park terrace room shrimp and grits hot tub picnic lunch front porch dirty dancing trout get away modern amenities we loved our stay plan to return bed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Called before booking and was told refrigerator space was availible to store food (wife has a severe Dairy Allergy). Came here on a short honeymoon. Pictures on the advertisement were not of the room, or type of room we were checked in to. We could hear the neighbors talking and their TV. Everyone in the hotel shares small refrigerators. Discussed these concerns with the night clerk They did not offer other accommodations. The Inn was mostly empty and we were later told a Honeymoon Cabin was availible and not offered. Staff did not have an interest in assisting in anyway. Overall, we ended up leaving and were told no refund would be possible. Worst customer service I've ever had.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Nicholas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

The place is only 20 years old but has been in business for over 50 years! I guess it was re built in 1997 to look like the original. Rock Hot Tub by a fountain. Wonderful breakfast in the dining room with a waitress (not cheap continental) Room was not large but all new and cozy. Very nice staff and owners as well. Good people!

Room Tip: Has a nice elevator so a higher floor has a better view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DougJones99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We hope you will be able to return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Quaint inn tucked away in scenic Chimney Rock, NC overlooking the Broad River. What a pleasant surprise to find such excellent food & the option of outdoor seating; the ability to enjoy the views for all our meals during our stay. The staff was attentive; rooms were clean. The outdoor fire pit was a relaxing plus. Other offerings were a large hot tub adjacent to the fire pit. We relaxed on the upper porch in the comfy rockers with an afternoon glass of wine after our day's adventures. The Blitmore Estate is only 45 minutes away with Chimney Rock State Park a mere mile drive to trails & unbelievable views for those willing to trek the 500 steps to Exclamation Point & a 1.5 mile trail to breathtaking Hickory Nut Falls. Nearby also is scenic Lake Lure. We were grateful Lake Lure Welcome Center staff recommended a boat tour, well worth the $12. Although we visited prior to fall color, we hit a time of great weather & fewer crowds. Time permitting, there are numerous orchards nearby for you to enjoy a variety of "mountain apples" or also many roadside stands if time is limited.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We are glad to hear you had a great Birthday Celebration. We hope that you will be able to return and visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn which seems so appropriate a building for such a stunning setting. Welcoming staff, good food and comfortable room, I would stay again if nearby. Just to prove nothing is perfect, the location of the TV tended to obstruct the marvellous view. Restaurant service and food too class.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad your enjoyed your visit with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

The Inn and staff exceeded our expectations, unlike some of the reviews I read prior to choosing to make a reservation anyhow. Though the room was on the small side, it was functional, immaculate, and comfortable...we were not expecting a pent house suite. The ammenities offered at the Inn are first class, to include the location, and spectacular views. Among the things not mentioned in the reviews I had read include the 5 star breakfast which was included daily, soft music greeting us each time we entered our room, and the wonderful gameroom! We had dinner at the restaurant one night and everything was cooked beyond perfection, and the outdoor patio relaxing! I am unsure why anyone would write that the Inn was unlike the pictures posted online, unless I misunderstood that the pictures did not do justice, because it is absolutely the PERFECT place to stay in that area...providing you arrive before dark as the roads in and out are winding country roads! Thank you for a delightful experience!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank debbieg712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EsmeraldaInnkeeper, Owner at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us at The Esmeralda Inn & Restaurant. We hope that you will be able to return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews