We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations ”

Billy Graham Library
Ranked #1 of 191 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Journey through history with one of the most influential voices of the 20th century. Learn more about Billy Graham and his message of God’s love. Through multimedia exhibits, films, and memorabilia, you'll relive the historic moments of his life. Tour the restored Graham family home, shop in Ruth’s Attic, and enjoy lunch in the Dairy Bar. The Billy Graham Library will leave you inspired by this amazing man and his message of hope.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Don't know why it took me so long to visit and I had heard so much about it, I was afraid I might be disappointed. Not at all. A first class place just like the man it honors. Lots of great info, movies and exhibits and everyone we met was simply wonderful. The snack bar was great too!

Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillyGrahamLibrary, Promotions Manager at Billy Graham Library, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks so much for sharing about your experience here at the Library. We are pleased you enjoyed The Journey of Faith tour and the dairy bar. Please come back for a visit soon! God bless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"his life"
in 169 reviews
"childhood home"
in 81 reviews
"talking cow"
in 75 reviews
"live nativity"
in 61 reviews
"dairy bar"
in 60 reviews
"the barn"
in 50 reviews
"book store"
in 47 reviews
"jesus christ"
in 46 reviews
"great man"
in 42 reviews
"dairy farm"
in 28 reviews
"world leaders"
in 25 reviews
"prayer garden"
in 22 reviews
"christmas season"
in 30 reviews
"carriage ride"
in 27 reviews
"wonderful place to visit"
in 26 reviews
"grew up"
in 23 reviews
"gift shop"
in 87 reviews
Filter

135 - 139 of 1,964 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

I knew just a little bit about Billy Graham, so wasn't quite sure what to expect. I was blown away by this place! Such a fascinating man and quite a journey he had. No matter what you believe this is a place that should be visited by everyone! So interesting, and very well thoughtout. It takes you on a journey of his and his families life and travels. Highly recommend!

Thank G7993LGamyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillyGrahamLibrary, Promotions Manager at Billy Graham Library, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your review of the Library. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit here and appreciate your recommendation! We hope to see you again in the future! God bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed walking through the life of Graham family! Wish I made it before his death! You will enjoy all the rooms. I really felt refreshed and renewed in my faith.

Thank mmbakerbelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillyGrahamLibrary, Promotions Manager at Billy Graham Library, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review of the Library. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here and were refreshed by your visit. We hope to see you again soon! God bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Since opening in 2007, the Library has sought both to honor the life of Charlotte native and world-renowned evangelist Billy Graham and to continue his ministry of sharing the Gospel of Jesus Christ. The Library accomplishes these goals via state-of-the-art exhibits, multimedia displays, and personal artifacts. Graham first felt God’s calling to the ministry at age 16, while attending a tent meeting held by evangelist M. F. Ham. After earning a Bachelor’s degree in Theology from Florida Bible College, Graham enrolled at Wheaton College in Illinois, where he met his future wife, Ruth McCue Bell. Graduating from Wheaton with a degree in anthropology, Graham briefly served as a minister at a Baptist church in Western Springs, Illinois before becoming involved with the organization Youths for Christ. Graham became a nationally-known evangelist as a result of the media coverage he received while preaching at a series of revival meetings held in Los Angeles in 1949. Originally scheduled for a three week period, the meetings were held over an additional five weeks. From his preaching to thousands of people in this “canvas cathedral” in Los Angeles, Graham was ultimately able to share God’s word to hundreds of millions across America and around the world. Over his years of ministry, Graham shared the Good News of Jesus Christ with more than 210 million people in six continents!

Among the many interesting items collected over this lifetime and showcased at the Library are a silver cross worn by Reverend Graham while visiting American troops serving in Korea in 1952; fragments form the Berlin Wall; a ceremonial Native American headdress given to Graham in 1974 when he was named “Natani,” meaning “Warrior of the Great Spirit,” by Indian evangelist Tom Claus; a certificate of honorary knighthood awarded by Queen Elizabeth II; and the Presidential Medal of Freedom, bestowed by President Ronald Reagan in 1983. The site also includes Graham’s boyhood home, carefully restored and filled with family items. Ruth’s Attic is a well-stocked bookshop and gift store named after Graham’s late wife. The Graham Brothers Dairy Bar, a nod to the 300-acre dairy farm the Graham family once operated, serves lunch-menu items, beverages, snacks, and, of course, ice cream treats. Admission is free.

Thank D2958ZXgarym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillyGrahamLibrary, Promotions Manager at Billy Graham Library, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your thorough review of the Billy Graham Library. We so appreciate you taking the time to share. Come and visit again as both our exhibits and beautiful gardens change with the seasons. God bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Learn about the impact of the Life of Billy Graham. His life influenced and touched millions. This tour is only an hour or two. Even after his passing, his message still inspires on the beautiful grounds of his library

Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillyGrahamLibrary, Promotions Manager at Billy Graham Library, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad you were inspired by your visit to the Library. God bless and please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Billy Graham Library also viewed

 

Been to Billy Graham Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing