We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique charm”
Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dunhill Hotel
Ranked #54 of 182 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location for Uptown Charlotte. The staff are so welcoming and friendly and it was this that marked the Dunhill out. Our room was smart and stylish, well maintained.
Breakfast is complimentary with a good variety available to suit individual needs. The hotel run a Black London taxi to provide complimentary transport within the inner loop, which is quirky although as a Londoner not perhaps unique. A nice touch nonetheless.
We enjoyed evenings in the bar where both management and local patrons made us feel welcome and included. Behind the bar is Mike and he is a cocktail and drinks expert blending drinks based on your personal preferences. A real star.
Why go to an impersonal chain when you can enjoy the Dunhill.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NealG561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith Z, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear NealG561,
Thank you for recognizing our hospitality. Our team strives to make each interaction memorable for our guests in the best way possible. I'm delighted that you also enjoyed our rooms, many of our amenities, and time spent at our Lobby Bar. We hope that you have an opportunity to visit us again, soon!

Sincerely,
Meredith Zingraff
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a Carolina Panthers game and this hotel was great. Only 1 mile from the stadium, super clean, and a very friendly staff. They also serve a nice complimentary hot/cold breakfast. We really enjoyed our time at The Dunhill!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith Z, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Samantha,

Thank you for your review. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your visit, from your interactions with our staff to our central Uptown location. We hope to welcome you back for another game this season. Go Panthers!

Sincerely,
Meredith Zingraff
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Owned by Summit, this is one of the oldest hotels . Completely remodeled, we stayed a night after attending a Panthers game. Staff is very friendly & accommodating. Room was a nice size , was clean and the beds are comfortable. Self parking is $28 , valet is $30. The hotel also has a restaurant and a small lobby bar. Our room faced Tryin St., so we were awoke by sirens , etc during the night. None the less, we would definitely stay here again !

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith Z, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Susan,

I hope you enjoyed the game! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Dunhill Hotel while you were in town. I'm delighted that you felt well cared for by our associates and that you enjoyed the comfort of our guest rooms. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Meredith Zingraff
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Living overseas, we had shipped a few things to be delivered to the hotel. The package didn't arrive on time but the staff went out of their way to make sure it was forwarded on to us at the next destination.

Quaint hotel and great location -even for a night stopover.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith Z, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Jenny,
Thank you for your kind words about our team. I'm happy to know that we were able to help ease some of the stressors that can arise when traveling overseas. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the States!

Sincerely,
Meredith Zingraff
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

The Dunhill Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Charlotte NC, convenient to the business center, convention center, shops and restaurants. Street life was active on the summer night that we visited.

The hotel lobby was clean and charming but not cluttered or grand, with a small bar and an opening to the restaurant. The staff was a pleasure to work with, guiding us to local restaurants and getting a roll-away bed for one of our two rooms. The rooms themselves were nicely appointed and attractive without being fussy. The bathrooms were large and solid, and had ample windows.

The hotel is one of the historic hotels of America, though it does not have a lot of the charm or quirkiness that one might expect from that group. But it was nice and comfortable.

Parking was available at an added cost in an adjacent parking structure.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith Z, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Michael,
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time in Charlotte and that The Dunhill's location was convenient for all that you had planned. Thank you for sharing your experience with our guest service team and our guest rooms. We hope to have you as our guest again in the future.

Sincerely,
Meredith Zingraff
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 182 in Charlotte
181 reviews
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#35 of 182 in Charlotte
1,594 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $211 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing