We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Birthday Treat.”
Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dunhill Hotel
Ranked #52 of 183 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed here as part of our coast to coast and it happened to coinside with my birthday so I was hoping for something special.
We were very happy with the choice. The room wasn't huge but was lovely and plenty for us. beautifully appointed and touches like the traditional chocolate on the pillow and the minifridge being filled with sodas and water on a complimentary basis was wonderful given the warm weather we had while we were there.
The deal we got for bed and breakfast was a little confusing (both of us were entitled to it one day and only one of us the next) but the guy on reception changed the vouchers to include us both on all days without even being asked so we were able to enjoy so absolutely wonderful and filling hot breakfasts included in the price and the service from the staff is more than helpful.

The location is great for the centre of the city with the WB Centre just down the road and the Discovery Centre (Science museum) next door and if you go to Charlotte to eat & drink you will not be dissapointed, however it is the only city we have ever come across that has absolutley no shopping available! so if you want to buy anything for when you are there do so before you arrive!

All in all very little to complain about and would really recommend as a really good hotel in Charlotte.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKMS1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 353 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed at the Dunhill and enjoyed our experience. While the hotel is small and so are the rooms, the size did not seem to impact our experience though others may feel a bit cramped. Great historical charm.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnelizabeth8i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We were hesitant to book our "Staycation" at the historic Dunhill, mainly because I always interpret "historic" as a fancy way of saying "old". That is not the case at the Dunhill. They are a class act. Cookies in the evening, a cooler full of truly complimentary beverages in your room, extremely prompt and helpful staff, and a complimentary breakfast that will rival most B and B's. We had a great time. Bed was comfortable. Bathrooms were small, but that's what you get at a historic inn.

Room Tip: Parking is $12 for the length of your stay, or if you're there on the weekend, there are meters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yourfriend6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The place isn't fancy but it is very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would absolutely stay there again. The location is fantastic and quiet. Free Kerurig coffee machine in the room and a few other free beverages. A really nice amenity. My only recommendation would be to change out or provide different pillow types. They were kind of lumpy.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank jal3137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Where to start...
Great service from everyone, especially the bartender Pete who remembered my name and drink of preference and kept all his customers entertained and feeling good.

Fantastic food at the restaurant for reasonable prices breakfast is amazing farm fresh eggs grits homemade sausage all gratis with room

Great water pressure
Good bed
Feels a bit like home away from home

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oenogeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 183 in Charlotte
195 reviews
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#33 of 183 in Charlotte
1,606 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#59 of 183 in Charlotte
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $216 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing