We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please dont come here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake
Ranked #152 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Charlotte
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Please dont come here”
Reviewed 20 March 2010

I am here right now and let me tell you, this place is not worth 40.99 a night. The people are not friendly and she seems to go out of her way to make you not feel welcome. The outlets dont seem to all worjk and the beds are very dirty, look around there are better rates and places to come rather then here, this has been a horrible trip ive been here eight days and paid 381.25 for this, not worth it please do not come here and make the same mistake that i did.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyrell20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you for your honest review.

However, I am pleased to announce that we are undergoing a massive upgrade programme.
Many customers who have experienced our new rooms are very satisfied and have made it a point to come and tell us.

I hope you give us another chance to show you what we have done.

rgds

Hal Christian
Gen. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    16
    45
    55
    134
See reviews for
67
70
29
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kutztown
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

The room and bathroom were clean, and we had no problem getting extra towels. The only problem was that the tub was extremely clogged. We called the front desk, and they told us that, since the maintenance staff was not available, we could either get a new room or just get the key to another to shower in if we had unpacked and didn't want to move. Problems happen, but they were willing to accommodate us.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindun104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal C, General Manager at Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you for your honest review.

I am pleased to announce that we are undergoing a massive upgrade programme.
Many customers who have experienced our new rooms are very satisfied and have made it a point to come and tell us.

We hope to see you again soon.

rgds

Hal Christian
Gen. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel and I must say that this truly is a dive hotel! We arrived in our room to find mold on the ceiling tiles as well as on the walls. Immediately upon entering the room it smelled very musty and of stale smoke (it was a non-smoking room). I went to the front desk and requested to see another room but unfortunately for my husband and I it was to be no better. It had mold as well and the bathroom was not clean. I had to purchase candles to try to block out the musty smell in the room and leave the door open as much as possible hoping the fresh air would somehow create a miracle for this hotel. This was to no avail. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaRickj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supersunset, Manager at Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake, responded to this review, 29 September 2009
We have undergone extensive upgrade in the past two years. This has enabled us to pass our Quality Assurance Surveys 4 times in a row. Our City Health Satisfaction score is A grade. Old customers regularly commend us on the cleanliness and the friendly, professional staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 September 2005

This is by far the dirtiest hotel room I have ever stayed in! I am appalled at the level of cleanliness, and I will make sure to never stay at a Super 8 again. There is gunk all around the sink basin. There is dirt/stains/something nasty on the toilet seat along with pubic hair. The "nonsmoking" room smells like it's been closed up with a full ashtray in it. The inside security latch is broken. The floor looks like it has not been vacummed in weeks. I do not even want to think about the sheets I will be sleeping on momentarily given that I found 2 jet black (not my color) hairs in the sheets. I got suckered into the low rate, and I am disgusted with my choice. I intend to rate this hotel location poorly on every hotel website I visit. When I asked the hotel clerk, who was nice and polite, for a different room because of the door latch, her reply was that she gave me "the best room." Are you kidding me? I am appalled and horrified that I've spent $52 and some change on this disgusting location, and I only wish I had my camera with me so I could document the nastiness - pubic hair on a "clean" toilet! You've got to be joking! I was driving on I-77 S and made the mistake of stopping here for the night - arrived after 9pm, and I didn't feel like hassling with any hotel crap. But here I am almost afraid to lay in the sheets. I believe you can have good deals without compromising quality this much, and I would hope someone would agree with me.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supersunset, Manager at Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake, responded to this review, 29 September 2009
Extensive upgrades include complete facelift to bathrooms. The showers now sport the new curved shower rods with new translucent window shower curtains. Most of the commodes have been replaced and we also now have shinny new crome tissue holders and plumbing. The walls and the bathroom door have been repainted. This gives a completly new ambiance to the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
0.4 km away
Sleep Inn North Lake
Sleep Inn North Lake
#100 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
3.9 km away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Charlotte - WT Harris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Super 8 Charlotte Downtown Area
Super 8 Charlotte Downtown Area
#113 of 177 in Charlotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
6.0 km away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#111 of 177 in Charlotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
7.1 km away
Knights Inn Charlotte Airport
Knights Inn Charlotte Airport
#127 of 177 in Charlotte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake

Property: Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake
Address: 4930 Sunset Rd, I-77 Exit #16A, Charlotte, NC 28269-2747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Price range (per night): $71 - $109
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Charlotte / Northlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Charlotte Sunset Road Hotel Charlotte
Super Eight Charlotte
Charlotte Super Eight
Charlotte Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing