We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service and communication at the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
Ranked #16 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This in regards to the service at the hotel - not lounge or spa - those are A+. Upon check in I was not warmly greeted, nor were any of my booking notes read. I booked over the phone and got the reservation specialist to attach the reservation to a previous one done (simultaneously) through my credit card portal. She did not read the notes, attach my reservations, nor was she friendly.

After sharing the bday news with the other front desk people and clearly being excited she was ready to get rid of me. I asked if we had received an upgrade (as that's standard for Platinum members) she said "no, there is just one but it's dirty so you'd have to wait hours. Um, what? Not, let me get it cleaned for you guys - thanks for your loyalty? Nope.

Then guest relations called and checked in and I was so upset I explained and she was the sweetest woman and got us put in another room immediately. We were only there for a staycation for my partners birthday and the room was tiny, and the carpet was very worn. She put us in a suite (which happened to already be clean and ready, hmm) and we seemed to be set.

Next morning at 9:30 AM our doorbell is ringing and the maid is asking us when we are leaving? What? Sunday, we are here through the weekend. She apologized and was so nice and said she'd called down - clearly the notes weren't passed to house keeping. She asked what the occasion was and we said "birthday" and she got us a cake brought up immediately (the housekeeping NOT the actual staff).

Our keys were deactivated when we were at the spa/pool so we had to go to the front desk in our robes to get new keys. Awkward since the Ritz Lobby is a hot spot in the evenings. While down there we wanted to confirm our checkout time the next day. Due to our status we are guaranteed late checkout at 4 PM. The front desk was arguing and saying we could check out at 2, but a platinum guest was coming at 4. Then my partner nicely explained, we're platinum too and we want to check out at 4. Is there a room shortage? It seems they are organized enough to know they need a specific room by a date, but we were not offered that or any courtesy - very unorganized.

The next morning was a fiasco as well. Our doorbell was rang at 9:30 asking when we were leaving. We kindly said 4 PM. Then again it rang at 12:30, 1:30, AND 2:30 all different people asking the same thing. We are leaving at 4. At 1:30 the housekeeping said they called and we didn't answer . No, we were in the room, the phone did not ring, but that would have been much prefered. We were trying to relax on our staycation and it was far from relaxing!

Upon leaving we did voice some concerns, as they asked - and the nice gentleman offered to remove the charges for our room Saturday night. Once we got home we realized they charged us for Friday (even though that was prepaid), so we still had to pay for two nights - thanks for literally nothing.

*Our room was spacious and nice, there were stains on the carpet in a few places. The bathrooms were spotless, beds were very comfortable.

Also - spa staff was very nice, guest relations people were very helpful and compassionate, and the housekeeping (Clarissa) were the sweetest people we met.

Overall, I would absolutely never return - for over $500/night we should have been treated at least like human beings.

Room Tip: The higher the better - a homeless man brings an amp and plays guitar on the corner starting at 8:30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dpaigej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeamusRitz, Director of Sales at The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Good Day,

We are disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations. If you have a moment, I would love to speak with you directly about your experience. I can be reached at 704-972-4446.

Thank you,

Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I chose The Ritz in Charlotte for our wedding anniversary getaway weekend. We were impressed upon arrival with the service and ambiance of the hotel. Our suite was clean and roomy although slightly outdated furniture. Full bathroom was lovely and half bath very convenient. We both had one of the best massages ever during our couples massage in their spa. The spa amenities were very nice. The salt room was amazing!
It wasn’t until our second day that we had an issue, when I accidentally locked myself out of our room after a facial (my husband was still in the middle of his) and I had to go to the front desk to get a room key. I was in my robe and slippers with wet hair, so I was already frustrated and a bit embarrassed. The gentleman at the front desk put me through quite the interrogation process to get into my room, despite my obvious appearance as a guest. Not to mention the lady who checked us in was standing right there. The problem was that my name wasn’t on the reservation. Not an excuse in my opinion considering all of the circumstances. I was very much further embarrassed and in front of other guests nonetheless! I was “escorted” back to my room to have my id checked after intense questioning and they even called the spa to confirm I had been there! Absolutely ridiculous! They need to re-visit their procedure with certain policies. I was also disappointed that the refrigerator in the room was pretty much useless and we had an issue with to-go food being ruined.
The management however MORE than made up for our troubles and we will definitely return due to the outstanding customer service. Looking forward to giving this hotel another go despite many other beautiful options in uptown Charlotte.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AHTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We booked the ritz for our wedding night. The suite was outdated and the carpets were stained. We had to wait to check in due to so many people trying to get into the downstairs club. One of my bridesmaids ordered us strawberries and champagne but there was nothing in the room when we got there.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company
2  Thank meganfR1685ZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeamusRitz, Director of Sales at The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Good Day Megan,

We are disappointed to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. If you have time, I would love to speak with you directly about your experience. Please call me at your convenience at 704-972-4446.

Kindly,
Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We came to the Ritz for an anniversary night and although I knew the Ritz reputation, we were super impressed. We are looking forward to our next stay. I recommend the Ritz to any couple looking for a special night

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company
Thank 412jeanpaulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

The Ritz is always a great experience. However, I recently read where they mistreated minorities and put a surcharge on their bills but that wasn’t the case for us. We were treated like royalty. I will continue to be an avid customer of the Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company
Thank 596jamip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 180 in Charlotte
166 reviews
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
#9 of 180 in Charlotte
823 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#34 of 180 in Charlotte
1,578 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Address: 201 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#14 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#30 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $601 - $1,233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of vibrant Uptown Charlotte, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, is a luxury hotel that brings an urbane sophistication through its innovative restaurants, dramatic skyline views, penthouse Spa & Wellness Center, spacious guest rooms and suites, and its environmental commitment that is rarely seen in a contemporary urban hotel. Included in the prestigious Condé Nast Traveler Gold List and Travel + Leisure World's Best Hotels, The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte is perfect for families and couples, business executives and groups, each destined to enjoy an unforgettable experience just steps from the city's cultural heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Marriott, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing