We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“respect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chapel Hill University Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
FAIRMONT,NC
1 review
“respect!”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The Inn is nice but the desk help and office people remind me of children! lack of respect caring that all people are entitled to.They ignore the phones,customers and play all day writing and texting.I wish your hotel nothing but the best..TARHEEL NATION deserves honor, and respect.something that these individuals don't have.
GOD BLESS,
RICHARD PORTER

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else until they clean house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RICHARD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    110
    73
    49
    27
See reviews for
181
65
63
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OCEAN CITY,MD
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I was going to book this hotel anyway, but I got fortunate and found a Groupon for the hotel and paid $52 a night. I've read reviews about bad TV's and carpeting and such, well I must have gotten a renovated room because I had a nice LCD flat screen TV, carpet was OK, bathroom was above average, nice size fridge and a king bed. The front desk was awesome, when I arrived there was a woman in front of me that didn't have her printed groupon and they directed her to the lobby computer so she could print out another. The girl at the front desk(Crystal, I believe) was most helpful as I needed directions to Bank of America, not only did she tell me the directions, but wrote them down as well. The shuttle was cool, an easy way to get to the cam,pus and they drop you off right on Franklin Street at University Square, the only downside was they stop running at 4pm, but there are taxis available and it was a $12 fare from Carmichael Arena to the hotel. There are plenty of food options in the area as well as grocery stores, pharmacy, pretty much anything you need, just ask Crystal(ask her if you can have 10 wash cloths for your room, it's an inside joke that I'm sure she will remember!).
In closing, I had a wonderful stay and would recommend this hotel if you're in the Chapel Hill area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCSPORTSNUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I was very happy with the level of customer service and the price I recieved staying here. The hospital is so close which was very convienent. My room was clean and ready for me as soon as I go there. Overall a stress-free, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I came to Chapel Hill for a UNC basketball game, and a lot of the hotels I usually stay at didn't have availability. I ended up choosing Chapel Hill University Inn and I was extremely pleased with my choice. Although it is an older hotell (the TV's aren't brand new), my room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating! Also, there's a family themed sports bar with good food attached to the hotel. I recommend this hotel to anyone coming into the Chapel Hill area. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Check in is not until after 4pm, BEDS ARE AWFUL, there were roaches, must wear socks at all times-the carpet is very old. Very bad TV Reception. Did not have a good experience. Do not recommend

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank besosparatodos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
4.0 km away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,301 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#13 of 18 in Chapel Hill
231 reviews
3.9 km away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
445 reviews
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
1.1 km away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Property: Chapel Hill University Inn
Address: 1301 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5803 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chapel Hill
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price range (per night): $76 - $150
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel Hill University Inn is known as the “Home of the Sports Experience” and is proud to showcase the winning traditions of the University of North Carolina Tar Heels. This sports themed hotel is the only full-service moderately priced hotel in Chapel Hill. The hotel is within walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Starbucks, SteinMart, shopping, more restaurants, and drug/ grocery stores. Hotel is located just 2 miles from UNC and downtown Franklin Street.Guests will enjoy complimentary Wireless internet access throughout hotel and in guest rooms. Other amenities includes: Free access to Kinetix Health Club and on site fitness center, business center, outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Complimentary gourmet coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. Hotel has a relaxing courtyard with covered seating and Adirondack chairs, as well as a gas grill and picnic area. Daily local shuttle service is provided to designated stops on UNC campus, UNC Hospitals, Franklin Street, the Friday Center and University Mall. Time- Out Sports Bar and Restaurant is on site. Watch any sports event on one of the 17 HDTV’s, play pool or video games. Open for breakfast and dinner, and will soon be opening for lunch. Time-Out is home of the famous Chicken and Cheddar Biscuit and was featured on Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food show. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing