We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,665)
Filter reviews
1,665 results
Traveller rating
1,269
266
83
24
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,269
266
83
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the crossroads southern charm unc campus historic hotel franklin street front porch chocolate chip cookies modern amenities place to stay rooms are small self parking wonderful stay first rate tar heel turn down service bed was very comfortable history
Filter
Updating list...
1,393 - 1,398 of 1,665 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have stayed at The Carolina Inn several times and it just keeps getting better! From the very beginning, the hospitality at the Inn is so welcoming. Warm cookies, a friendly smile and a luxurious room keep us coming back at every chance. We ordered room service twice for breakfast while we were celebrating our anniversary and were impressed with how they can deliver a first class breakfast piping hot. The rooms are laid out in a fashion that invites you to linger and enjoy stylish comfort.

I invite you to try The Carolina Inn for a comfortable southern hospitality experience. It feels like home to us every time we stay.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 2jhardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed here for a wedding and liked the hotel a lot. We had a remodeled/updated room. The walk-in shower was great! The rooms are small in the old part of the hotel but also quite nicely appointed. WiFi worked well in room 345.

Room tip: Ask for an "updated room".
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retired-math-teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The Carolina Inn is a truly lovely place to stay. Our room (among the least expensive) was cozy and comfortable, with a pretty view. Best of all are the public areas: explore the hallways near your room for tasteful arrangements of inviting couches and chairs. The lobby is most inviting of all: filled with classical music and a variety of places to sit, read, write, or wait for someone. By all means explore here, too! As well, the location is perfect, in walking distance to the UNC campus and Chapel Hill's downtown (a few blocks away), including all the great cafes and restaurants of nearby Carrboro. My only complaint is that internet access was poor: not only did the wifi work poorly in our room and in the lobby alike, but it was no better with our own ethernet cable. Because I was traveling on business, this was troublesome; my best advice is to use the computers at the small business center in the lobby: the internet there works perfectly. One more tip: What the Carolina Inn calls a queen-size bed is what I call a double bed. Nonetheless, what I will remember about the Carolina Inn is the pleasing room and beautiful lobby areas.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonkeybearNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

What a fantastic place to stay. From the moment you drive up to the hotel, you feel like they truly appreciate you being there. The front desk staff are extremely helpful and the facility is beautiful. The restaurant is exceptional as well. I can't think of anything negative about the Carolina Inn. I've stayed in many hotels around the Raleigh-Durham area, and nothing else is even close. It's right in the middle of the UNC campus...a bit tricky to find at first, but quite easy once you get the hang of it. It's hard to accurately describe exactly what it is about this hotel, but they just seem to get it right. It's impossible not to feel comfortable and at home here.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeremiah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This visit was for an educational conference. The place is gorgeous. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated. Staff were gracious and accomodating. Food was excellent. The fitness center was clean and all of the equipment was in working order. This was one of the most relaxing business trips I've ever taken.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews