We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Carolina Experience, Complete with Southern Hospitality”
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Authentic Carolina Experience, Complete with Southern Hospitality”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Carolina Inn is a beautiful, historic hotel conveniently located near the grounds of the UNC-Chapel Hill campus and downtown shops on Franklin Street in Chapel Hill. With a friendly and helpful staff, delicious food, gracious and updated decor, and modern amenities, The Carolina Inn is perfect for families visiting the campus, professionals, and social events such as weddings.

The grounds of the Inn are well maintained and vibrant in the spring; the location is convenient and walkable to the UNC campus as well as shops along Franklin Street. As a wedding destination, it was perfect--just the right size, with a professional catering sales and wait staff, delicious food, and a variety of venues all within the hotel.

Additional amenities travelers of all kinds, and especially business travelers will appreciate:
--A modern and bright Fitness Center
--Clean, well-appointed guest rooms
--WiFi and High Speed Internet throughout at no additional charge
--Reasonably priced room service
--A commitment to environmental sustainability

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FourDayTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack S, Director of Sales at The Carolina Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thanks so much for sharing your experience with others. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like we lived up to our new tag line, "We come by Southern naturally".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    211
    64
    20
    17
See reviews for
454
249
63
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is a very nice hotel. There is incredible attention to detail, which is much appreciated. Service is gracious and polite and you see that immediately upon check-in.

Upon entering the room, there was classical music playing on the radio/iPod dock (with pretty good sound for a hotel radio!). And I found out that NPR news and classical were pre-set as well! Good flat-screen television.

My room was small, and the window was like a basement window, high up on the wall, but covered with shutters and proper black-out drapes. Since I was part of a conference, probably why I got this type of room. Even without a real window, a very proper room.

Bathroom was wonderful, and one of the few hotels I’ve stayed in recently with proper lighting. There were also big mirrors throughout the room. Bathroom had a nice white marble countertop, nickel fixtures, marble floor tile in a basket weave pattern, walk-in shower. Towels were very thick (private label for the hotel, with Carolina blue labels, of course), and there were plenty of them.

The desk had all of the electric and computer connection ports you could need (and internet was free). And there were plenty of electric outlets throughout the room (also unusual).

The queen-size bed was very comfortable and had nice bed linens, with a variety of pillows.

Bedside tables had lots of drawers, and a dimmable bedside lamp (nice touch). Plenty of drawers elsewhere, too. The hotel puts chocolate-covered peanuts in a nice cellophane bag (with a Carolina blue bow) on the bed, along with note cards with history of the university or recipes for North Carolina specialties. Squares of chocolate another night (the wrappers had scenes of the university).

The hotel has kept the framing industry in business. Each room has silhouettes of important people in the university’s history. There are lounge areas on each of the hallways, decorated in a Southern style, with more framed photos, history of the university, etc. It’s very well done. Room doors are painted---wait for it---Carolina blue.

The public areas are comfortable, lots of seating; the lobby décor is a little fussy.

I wish there had been stairways more conveniently located so as not to have to wait for an elevator to the second floor.

The location is great, walkable to just about anything on campus and the main drag in Chapel Hill.

If you are a UNC alum, you will really love this hotel, and its commitment to school history and spirit. If you went somewhere else, you can appreciate the history of the university (UNC was the first public university in the country to admit students when it opened in 1795), but you do have to take a deep breath when you run into Carolina blue again and again. However, it is subtle and doesn’t whack you over the head like the bed and breakfast that I once stayed in next to the University of Oklahoma…

Room Tip: If you can, and your room rate permits, ask for a room with a proper window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur_americain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
233 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We recently booked a block of rooms at The Carolina Inn in Chapel Hill, NC, for my son's wedding. We found the hotel to be very beautiful and well appointed in the common areas, as each floor contained common seating areas where guests could gather and visit. Checking in was easy, and there were chocolate chip cookies provided at the front desk. The bills for all my rooms at check-out were accurate. Parking was reasonable at $14.00 per night for valet parking. Accessibility to the UNC campus, other area attractions and restaurants was easily within walking distance; the hotel also provided limited complimentary transportation to certain areas--but not Raleigh-Durham airport. A cab ride to the airport was $40 one way. We ate several meals at the hotel's restaurant, The Crossroads Restaurant, and had room service once for lunch. The food was always outstanding. I highly recommend the friend green tomato sandwich with sweet potato fries, and it is large enough for two people. Although some of the rooms had been recently updated, ours was not one of them. Although a little small, our room was comfortable enough as far as the room temperature and bed comfort goes. Our room came with a 4-cup coffee maker and complimentary wireless internet. There was not a safe in our room, but I was able to use the safe located downstairs in the office one evening. A late check-out for us was granted upon request. The staff was always very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Request a recently updated room as well as a room that is away from the elevator. The hotel was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickygirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Hotel was recommended to us for our visit to UNC. It did not disappoint. It was located in the middle of beautiful UNC campus with great access to shopping/dinning street. Aesthetically it was very southern looking and just the experience we wanted. The only set back: the daily parking rates were too high considering the hotel rates and other local prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziptripspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

After years of sharing 12'x14' dorm rooms and apartments not much bigger, the Carolina Inn is such a treat and a lovely place to rest my head when returning to my college town.

The hotel is beautifully decorated, full of Southern charm and history. On the occasions I've stayed there our rooms have been clean and well-appointed. The beds offer a very comfortable sleep. (I stayed in a double queen this most recent visit; the bathroom was a tad small but in fine shape.)

Check-in is easy, with bell staff ready to transport your bags from car to room while you are at reception. The "welcome" chocolate chip cookies are a deliciously nice touch. If you valet and need your car while staying there, pull-around is a quick call away.

The location can't be beat. An entrance to the UNC campus is across the street, and Franklin Street's shopping, dining and bars are little more than a block away.

I have stayed at the Inn for a special event on property and thoroughly enjoyed the banquet food and service. I hope to try the Crossroads restaurant and bar on future visits.

While the rate can be a little steep, especially on peak and event weekends, the convenience and level of service is worth the extra spend.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper you might want to request a higher floor. While very nice, in my groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrunchyJiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
4.5 km away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.5 km away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
2.9 km away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
6.5 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Property: The Carolina Inn
Address: 211 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price range (per night): $233 - $452
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing