We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected and delicious”
Review of Lucha Tigre

Lucha Tigre
Ranked #56 of 324 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Had a great dinner here with my husband and a friend. Food was delicious...especially the nachos bulgogi! My salad was fresh and surprisingly filling. Only downer...empanadas were a bit overdone...they lost some of their filling flavor to too crusty dough. Will def be back, though, to try more off the menu. (Oh and try the mojito with beer topper...)

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Lucha Tigre offers a delicious mix of Latin and Asian flavors from a well-conceived menu. The service is quick and friendly. We often get takeout orders and enjoy a drink at the bar while we’re waiting. Lucha Tigre gets it!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank macmac114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

The best restaurants are defined, of course, by their food, service and ambience. There’s an “X” factor though, a coefficient of sorts, that acts as an equalizer: what happens when something goes awry.

It works like this - the way a “situation” is handled can often be the best indicator of the integrity and commitment of management to maintaining high standards and customer loyalty. Even the best restaurants can be undone by poor handling of events.

We returned to Lucha Tigre with anticipation, looking forward to the experience we had a year ago, albeit on a smaller scale this time. It was a beautiful evening so we opted to sit outside. The guacamole and crispy green beans we ordered with our drinks were lovely, and set the tone for a nice evening under the watchful eye of our attentive server.

When the mosquitoes joined us, Matt lit a citronella candle and we waited for the word to be given - as promised - that a table would open up inside for us. We went about ordering a veritable feast for the four of us, with the confidence that any leftovers would barely pause in a college apartment fridge before being finished off. The invitation to move inside never came, but the cockroaches did...

Ours was a corner table, tucked into a part of the patio surrounded by walls on two sides. The roaches scurried up and down across the walls to the extent that the four of us huddled on one side of the table, and consolidated our food onto as few plates as possible, keeping them out of harms way as the encROACHment continued.

My pleas to the owner went unheeded. He told me that all the remaining tables had been committed - which was reasonable - but went on to remind me that he had earlier offered us a table in the bar area - which was unreasonable.

In the end we made the best of things, resigned ourselves to our fate, sought humor in the situation (without success).

The owner was resolute in stating that he had no control over the outside. While true, we could have been warned that this was a recurring problem with that table, and frankly some portion of our bill should have been comped. That’s just good business, and would have gone a long way towards aligning us with management vs the bugs, and Lucha Tigre wouldn’t have lost a customer.

Date of visit: October 2017
3  Thank pjalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

They have an eclectic and varied menu combined with a fun and somewhat funky environment - can't beat it for lunch with coworkers. Good food and good service every time I've been. Take a chance - you won't regret it.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smsmith214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Who would have thought Asian and Latino food could come together in such deliciousness? We sat out on the patio and had a great late night dinner of spring rolls, shrimp ceviche and chips. Loved the tangy ginger beer as well. If I lived here, would on my favorite hangout list.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Mohana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucha Tigre also viewed

 
Chapel Hill, NC
 

Been to Lucha Tigre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing