We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just loved it”
Review of Aloft Chapel Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Chapel Hill
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I was very please to know that Chapel Hill now has this type of option. Hotel was indeed super cool, well decorated and with a truly friendly staff. Not too close to Franklin, but not too far either. Will become a regular customer of the Aloft Chain!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guilherme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 323 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

What a neat hotel. It's unexpected, on a main road in Chapel Hill. It has tons of cool - great decor, wonderful service and a good vibe. There are a lot of places to stay in Chapel Hill, but this newer property just feels fun. It's close to UNC and in a shopping/restaurant area that made it very convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takenthekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I was booked this hotel via my employer, and was excited to see that, as I have never stayed in one before. Check in is weird, as, theres no place to park to check in, rather, they have a complementary valet service. I didnt see it was "free" until I walked up. I didnt want to do it as, id feel obligated to tip. Parking is terrible though. There is a garage, which you need an access code to get into, and only certain spots are for the hotel. Theres an elevator, but, it doesnt go to the hotel (I learned that the hard way). You have to walk outside and back to the hotel. On the way out, one of the exits wouldnt work, then at the other one, I forgot the code (didnt have the paper) and had to ask to be let out. The lobby is really neat with a bar, snack area, pool table, music, etc... though it was confusing to try and find the elevators to your room. The room was so cool! The shower was all glass and you had to actually open the door to the shower, didnt slide. The shampoo and soap were in a dispenser you simply pressed in, no bottles. The sink is neat looking, but, not very efficient, as it sprays everywhere when it hits the bowl. The fridge is under the sink. The shower was warm, but not a ton of water pressure, though not bad either. The living area was really neat. The bed has no box-spring, and has its own reading lamps over each side of the bed (I had a king). My room had 2 HUGE windows with a nice view. The computer desk was neat, with a "docking station" with all sorts of jacks for HMDI, USB, RCA, etc... TV s mounted on the wall, id guess a 32 inch flat screen. Channel choices are solid, not perfect, but solid (about 30 or 35 channels). The shower has a tinted glass wall that sections it off from the living area. The bed was very comfy as were the pillows. The heat wasnt good, i had it set for auto at 73, and it refused to come on when it was below it. set it on "on" at 73, and it was blowing coldish air. I set it at 75, it was warmer, but not that warm. Unsure what was going on with that. Free WiFi was speedy. I didnt try out the bar, pool or food. Check out was smooth and everyone was friendly. I would try another aloft in the future! Hotel is in walking distance to a lot of food and shops.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaysofThundr46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Nothing necessarily "wrong" with the hotel. It was just so tacky. The bed was practically on the floor. The colors of the room were straight out of the eighties. I get it; it's supposed to be like the W. it was just too much. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBizzle612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Nice hotel in a quiet area walking distance to restaurants and grocery store
Typical Aloft...clean and with happy people working there
Free Parking... covered and uncovered
Will stay again if in the area again... Platinum SPG here and this is your typical Aloft

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nychellzkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Sherburne, General Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

We are glad that you found that you found the hotel to be a good central location for your stay. With about 8 restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel it makes it easy to sample some of Chapel Hill's best restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
1.4 km away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
31 reviews
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
4.6 km away
Hyatt Place Chapel Hill / Southern Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,402 reviews
2.7 km away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.3 km away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Chapel Hill

Been to Aloft Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chapel Hill

Address: 1001 S Hamilton Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-4409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#10 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: $147 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Chapel Hill is by UNC's Campus, area universities, Research Triangle Park, and RDU Airport. Our hotel has 1,600sq ft of meeting/event space, free wifi, an indoor pool, and w xyz, a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing