We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in carolina beach, mediocre otherwise”

Ocean Grill & Tiki Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Carolina Beach, NC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best view in carolina beach, mediocre otherwise”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Great tiki bar out on the pier, but service is often slow, food is pricey and only average quality, but you're coming here for the atmosphere not the food!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pilot650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    145
    91
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stallings, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place !”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Great place to meet new friends or meet up with old ones from previous visits. Right on the beach great few excellent staff. Love it !

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Pokiedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not good anymore”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I am a local and this used to be a favorite haunt in Carolina Beach, with fabulous food. Now, the only redeeming value is nice waitresses and a great view. I was TERRIBLY disappointed in the food. All of it was overcooked for the three people at my table and tasted worse. This restaurant under new ownership is officially off my list.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sablier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just Drive Past...”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Horrible beginning to end. Waited forever to get a menu .... no drink order was taken until meal order was taken ...20min after being seated. Another 40 min and 'food' arrived. Not much on menu to choose from so we figured what little they did serve they would serve well...but no. Chicken sandwiches were uneatable, the flounder was dry as a bone. Kids meals were left almost untouched. From 7 meals only the ribs were somewhat good. Even the soft drinks were as flat as the flavor of the food. Our food arrived 20min after guests that arrived 30 min after ours. Just drive on down the road.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kath_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati ohio
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pretty view of the sea in the upstairs dining room..good food”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This restaurant has an upstairs dining room which affords a lovely view of the Tiki Bar and the beach.
My son had the crab cakes, (which he said were delicious), my husband had flounder. I am a vegetarian and had their OCEAN GRILL SALAD which had mixed greens tossed with citrus vinaigrette, spiced pecans,dried cherries, and feta cheese with toasted crostinis. This salad was wonderful! The Tiki Bar offers local entertainment on a pier that is right on the sea. The food is a bit pricey but the atmosphere is worth the extra price and it's one of those "vacation spots" that you splurge a little for.
There is free 2 hour parking across the street.
(910) 458 2000

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pato9779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Grill & Tiki Bar also viewed

 
Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Ocean Grill & Tiki Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing