We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Days Inn Asheville West
Nearby Hotels
Nakon Motel(Candler)
USD 87*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Pisgah View Ranch(Candler)(Great Value!)
USD 141*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 95*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 73*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West(Asheville)(Great Value!)
USD 124*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Asheville West(Asheville)(Great Value!)
USD 77*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Biltmore West(Asheville)(Great Value!)
USD 97*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Asheville)
USD 67*
USD 56*
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 79*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn West(Asheville)(Great Value!)
USD 86*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveller rating
181
233
200
133
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
181
233
200
133
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanchillisoupbiscuits and gravyfree breakfastlight supperplace to sleepan older propertynothing fancycoffee makerinternet connectionconvenient locationminute drivethe blue ridge parkwayinterstatepetsbiltmore
Filter
Updating list...
790 - 795 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I am a Motel 6 kinda guy. Nothin' fancy is fine by me. But this ancient ruin is a disaster zone amid the wonderful scenery of western North Carolina. No way does it deserve a "Tripadvisor Recommended" sticker on the front door. This hotel occupies an old Soviet-style block on a hill overlooking the newish reception area. Everything is dilapidated, the carpets, the curtains, the furniture and decor, the door frames, the general construction. Worst of all, my threadbare blanket was crusty. I would hate to put it under a microscope. Chances are you drove here. Drive to a better place, either at the next exit closer to town, or check out the hundreds of hotels in Asheville proper on Tunnel Road. If they cost a few bucks extra (and it won't be more than that), consider it money well saved and misery wisely avoided.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdiaw, General Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

I am truly sorry you weren’t happy with our hotel. It is indeed 50 years old and we are proud that almost all of our customers love the old time quality, combined with our outstanding customer service, sparkling clean rooms, immaculate giant pool, free breakfast buffet, free dinner, and park-at-your door convenience. The State of NC rates us “A” as does Buncombe County. Our inspection scores with Days Inn are among the highest of all Days Inns, including the new and more expensive hotels. Again, we are sorry that we were not what you were looking for, but we are very proud of our reputation and our very high level of repeat business and we will always deliver sparkling clean rooms. SIncerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I normally use booking.com but if this motel was mentioned, there were too few reviews, yet, to 'rate' ... Fortunately, it was 'hotels.com' reviews which alerted me to one thing this motel does that is exceedingly different: it offers a sort of 'half board' wrapped in to an unbelieably reasonable rate!
We arrived after dark and the gals at the front desk were really nice, mentioning that there was 'soup in the breakfast room'. There was a chicken tortallini and a vegetarian soup on offer along w/ crackers and ice tea. Nothing fancy, but they had no problem with our bringing in a bottle of wine and having a couple of bowls for that night's supper. In fact they were helpful in directing us back to the 'Dollar Store' which, although its lights were out at 7 p.m. when we'd come by, was open until at least 8 p.m. in order to buy wine and they even recommended that if we didn't have one, $ Store would sell us a corkscrew, too, as they didn't have one there at the Motel. As folks finished their soup suppers, one of the women came around and offered 3 chocolate chip cookies to each diner.
The next morning, Jim laughed upon opening one of the soup tureens, saying, 'Soup for breakfast, too?' I had to show him that what was on offer was biscuits and gravy, one of MY personal favorites. There was fruit and juice, cereal and pastries, so no need for one to hit the road hungry here.
The motel itself was basic, yet rooms had coffee pots. The only negative that I could find was that the walls were thin and for the first hour or so after retiring (granted, before 10 p.m. ... if it continued afterward, we slept through it) there were neighboring kids, for the most part, slamming up and down the stairs. One wing didn't seem as 'used', so it would have been nice to put those requesting a 'quiet room' (which we always do) or those WITHOUT kids in to this wing, instead.
I can't remember WHEN I felt I got MORE than my money worth at an overnight stay, which is why I rate Days Inn WEST so favorably. The Biltmore was AWESOME (a 'must see', best done EARLY) so if it's a peak 'tourist' season, book here for the night before.

Room Tip: ask for room in the wing with least children as walls are thin
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Wow, thank you so much for your glowing and comprehensive review of your stay with us at the Days Inn Asheville West! It is the highest compliment to be rated as "a favorite motel in years" by a seasoned international traveler. I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your visit, especially the 2 free meals and the convenience of the location. The nearby Biltmore Estate is indeed a "must see", especially during the Christmas season and is well worth the price of admission at our discount rates. I sincerely apologize that you had noisy neighbors and hope that will not deter you from visiting us again if you are ever in the Asheville area. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Motel was very clean. Staff was excellent and the price was unbelievable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I am very pleased to know you were satisfied with your stay. Clean accomodations and excellent customer service at the best price in the Asheville area is what we take pride in offering. Thank you for reviewing us and we hope to see you again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Great rates, helpful staff. Ms. Donna cooks up some great food for breakfast and supper.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcopeland99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for acknowledging Donna's service. As always, your feedback is extremely valuable to us and confirms that we take pride in our southern hospitality and making sure our guests have an enjoyable stay with us. Hope to see you again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Right off imterstate, very nice staff, good rate, will use again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvgardening13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Days Inn Asheville West and I am pleased to know you had a satisfactory experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Happy 2012 to you and all our guests and may the new year bring you good tidings and safe and enjoyable travels. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews