We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, exactly what we had expected - no frills, just excellent location and price!”
Review of Outer Banks Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Outer Banks Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We just got back from our trip to the Outer Banks. We stayed a week in an efficiency (Room 104) at the Outer Banks Motel. We were on somewhat of a budget, but we wanted to stay ON the beach. We found this place online and read some of the reviews, so we knew basically what to expect - and we could afford it! The best part of the motel: the location! We literally walked down the steps and were at the beach. The pool and hot tub were right there, too. The worst part of the motel: the beds were VERY hard and not much was furnished. We had to buy toilet paper, garbage bags, cleaning products, and dish soap. There is a Dollar Tree about 10 minutes away in Avon, though, so all that only cost us a total of $12 - not a huge deal. We were just surprised that we were expected to clean, yet none of the cleaning things were provided. The staff was very sweet to us - the older woman was grandmotherly towards us. We didn't spend much time IN the room - just cooked lunch and dinner, ate, slept, and showered. The decor was definitely outdated, but I could have cared less! The kitchen was very modern - newer appliances and fully stocked. If you are looking for something fancy and impressive, this is NOT the place for you. If you are looking for an affordable, cozy place with amazing beach access, clean rooms, and a warm pool and hot tub - this is it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenGirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed in 107 right on the beach. Fantastic view and great accommodations. This is a place that was built in the 50's and is is still clean and comfortable. You can't get any closer to the beach than this. The staff is always friendly and ready to help you. We have already made our 2012 reservations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flhtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Adequate, but watch out. We were charged $50 clean up fees for leaving a few wine bottles for recycling, and a few food stuffs in the fridge we could not take on the plane. Apparently this extra couple of minutes by the clean up staff cost plenty!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rleomagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at Outer Banks Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We respectfully disagree with you on the way this unit was left. We only charge a cleaning fee if it is warranted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Stayed here 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 and scheduled for 2011. We love it here and stay right on the beach. Older place but wonderful location and service!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flhtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The hotel is a great place to come with friends and go fishing. Great location and within minutes of the Point and other places to fish. Red Drum Tackle is 200 yds down the road and there is a great breakfast/lunch restaurant right across the road. Avon Pier is 8 miles to the north.

This time of year the rates really are cheap compared to summer time. This hotel is a little dated and everything is in need up a fresh coat of paint. However, the rooms are warm and dry. We stayed in room 4 and everything was clean. The bed linens and towels were also clean though old.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 km away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
16.8 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
15.4 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
0.1 km away
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
1.3 km away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outer Banks Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Motel

Address: 46577 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: $110 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Outer Banks Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Outer Banks Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Hotel Buxton
Outer Banks Buxton
Outer Banks Motel Buxton, Hatteras Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing