We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, exactly what we had expected - no frills, just excellent location and price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outer Banks Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Outer Banks Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay, exactly what we had expected - no frills, just excellent location and price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We just got back from our trip to the Outer Banks. We stayed a week in an efficiency (Room 104) at the Outer Banks Motel. We were on somewhat of a budget, but we wanted to stay ON the beach. We found this place online and read some of the reviews, so we knew basically what to expect - and we could afford it! The best part of the motel: the location! We literally walked down the steps and were at the beach. The pool and hot tub were right there, too. The worst part of the motel: the beds were VERY hard and not much was furnished. We had to buy toilet paper, garbage bags, cleaning products, and dish soap. There is a Dollar Tree about 10 minutes away in Avon, though, so all that only cost us a total of $12 - not a huge deal. We were just surprised that we were expected to clean, yet none of the cleaning things were provided. The staff was very sweet to us - the older woman was grandmotherly towards us. We didn't spend much time IN the room - just cooked lunch and dinner, ate, slept, and showered. The decor was definitely outdated, but I could have cared less! The kitchen was very modern - newer appliances and fully stocked. If you are looking for something fancy and impressive, this is NOT the place for you. If you are looking for an affordable, cozy place with amazing beach access, clean rooms, and a warm pool and hot tub - this is it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenGirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    42
    11
    10
    16
See reviews for
55
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed in 107 right on the beach. Fantastic view and great accommodations. This is a place that was built in the 50's and is is still clean and comfortable. You can't get any closer to the beach than this. The staff is always friendly and ready to help you. We have already made our 2012 reservations.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flhtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Adequate, but watch out. We were charged $50 clean up fees for leaving a few wine bottles for recycling, and a few food stuffs in the fridge we could not take on the plane. Apparently this extra couple of minutes by the clean up staff cost plenty!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rleomagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at Outer Banks Motel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We respectfully disagree with you on the way this unit was left. We only charge a cleaning fee if it is warranted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Stayed here 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 and scheduled for 2011. We love it here and stay right on the beach. Older place but wonderful location and service!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flhtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

The hotel is a great place to come with friends and go fishing. Great location and within minutes of the Point and other places to fish. Red Drum Tackle is 200 yds down the road and there is a great breakfast/lunch restaurant right across the road. Avon Pier is 8 miles to the north.

This time of year the rates really are cheap compared to summer time. This hotel is a little dated and everything is in need up a fresh coat of paint. However, the rooms are warm and dry. We stayed in room 4 and everything was clean. The bed linens and towels were also clean though old.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 km away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
4.6 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
16.7 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 km away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
16.9 km away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outer Banks Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Motel

Property: Outer Banks Motel
Address: 46577 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price range (per night): $115 - $281
Hotel Class:2 star — Outer Banks Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Outer Banks Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Hotel Buxton
Outer Banks Buxton
Outer Banks Motel Buxton, Hatteras Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing