We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A quaint, hidden treasure!”
other travellers have booked this property
Rustic Mountain Living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rustic Mountain Living
Map of Location & Surrounding Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Rustic Mountain Living
Map of Location & Surrounding Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Burnsville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Holly S
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A quaint, hidden treasure!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were looking for a last minute end of the week getaway! We sent the King's a message and they replied right away. My in-laws are here visiting from South America and we were looking for something fun to do before they return home.
They are very affordable and pet-friendly. Our pooches and daughter LOVED running around their property and playing in the creek! We visited two good restaurants in town, Rio (Mexican) and Bubba's (BBQ), both were very tasty and affordable. We also took a drive up to Mount Mitchell, which is just under an hour away.
Neither of my two GPSs could find the location, but Mr. and Mrs. King gave us great directions! I would def recommend this place to anyone! The King's are super nice and accommodating! The cabin is quaint and the views are spectacular! We can not wait to visit again!! Next time, we want to find a place that offers tubing!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Listening to the creek and the views
Liked least: We couldn't figure out how to work the TV in the master bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2015
Holly we are glad you and family ejoyed your visit! Thank you for your
reviews"
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeme12
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
“Stop searching, stay here!!!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

First, I cannot do the spectacular mountainous view justice in photos or with words. I can only say, if you are looking for a semi-secluded cabin that is appropriately placed at the mouth of a valley and beneath the clearest star-lite night sky, this is the ideal place. PURE SERENITY. In the morning we would watch the white fog cascade over the ridges, exposing the most beautiful view of nature I have ever experienced.

Rick was prompt in greeting us upon arrival and made the transition seamless and convenient. The deposit you pay, initially, is applied to the cost of your stay, so you only have to pay what is remaining of the invoice.

Our pets loved it here. We traveled with our dog and cat (who are deaf) and we were able to let them out into the huge yard without worrying for their safety.Rick owns a lot of the land surrounding the property, so on numerous occasions me and the dog would trek through the woods just exploring the untamed forest.

The inside of the cabin is adequately stocked with everything you would have in your own home. The kitchen is huge with seating for about 4 people and the living room also can accommodate roughly 4 people as well. There is a remote controlled fire place that can heat the cabin in literally 10 minutes. All I would recommend you bring are your clothes and grocery and you are set.

It would be unfair of me to write this review without touching on some of the not so spectacular points of our stay. The internet connection is slightly weak. I work as a website developer for college university's and at times it was hard for me to get my I pad or Mac book connected to the WiFi. (Verizon phone service does work when standing outside in the yard) The internet provided to the cabin is not an independent source but instead it is an "extension connection" from Rick's home which is directly across the street. Also, it would not hurt to have a better arrangement of couch seating in the living room. There is seating for two people on one couch and a single chair for one other guest.

What is there to do here? The Blue Ridge Parkway is conveniently located just south of the cabin. We drove for 1-hour on the Parkway to Mt. Michelle for the unbelievable views of mountain ranges. Zip lining at Navitat is a must on the to-do-list. I am terrified of heights, however, this was the highlight of our trip. Relax, the best thing to do while staying at the Yancey Palace is RELAX. The sound of the motivated creek near the back deck lends itself well to the picturesque views of the terrain.

Final note: Stay here!!! I looked for weeks at all kinds of websites for an escape from our city life and here we found it at an affordable price without trading in luxurious accommodations. Rick you were great and your place has become our annual getaway location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coming
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Please come stay again!
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingto...
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“Relaxing Getaway & Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights at Yancey Palace. The place was quaint and we felt right at home. It had everything we needed, from a grill to BBQ to satellite TV. The Palace is secluded with great views so it's peaceful and quiet. You can even take a drive to Asheville (about 45 minutes away) or make a day trip to Grandfather Mountain like we did (about 1.5 hours away). Annette and Rick were very friendly, helpful, and available if you need anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views of the mountains
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2015
Thanks for staying with us!
We appreciate your review.
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuvBBQ786
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“cute and cozy with awesome views and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

stayed a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. Rick and Annette stopped by and introduced themselves and gave history on the restored cabin. They are very gracious and caring hosts. Cabin is very comfortable and immaculately cleaned. Wonderful rolling hills, streams and deer made this a great visit - thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2015
Glad you enjoyed your visit!
Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick L
Heath Springs, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
“Awesome Cabin and incredible views”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

What a great cabin. Everything you need is in the cabin, just bring yourself and some food! The owners Rick and Annette are very gracious. The back and front porch are great to take in the mountain air and views. We had great weather too. If you want ot get away from the hussle and bussle this is the place. TONS of butterflies in the summer. Saw dear off the back deck. Nice stream in the back yard. The sound of the water is very soothing. We will come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the back porch and nightime sky.
Liked least: Having to leave...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2015
So glad you got to relax and enjoy the view!
Thanks and come again!
Rick and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing