We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White water rafting”

Rolling Thunder River Company
Ranked #2 of 15 Tours in Bryson City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Rolling Thunder River Company has provided exceptional river trips for almost 40 years. The family-friendly Nantahala River in western North Carolina has become a favorite river for hundreds of thousands of rafters each season. We offer Guided/Follow-A-Guide/Non-Guided options. Family-owned and operated.
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Excellent company and experienced guide. We were very pleased with this excursion. It rained half way through our float but that added to the adventure so don’t let a little rain stop you. Loved going in September as the crowds were non-existent but don’t wait too long as the final weekend ends mid September. We did the all day tour and ate their hamburger or chicken sandwich lunch which was very good. Tip: if you have a water proof go pro bring it and put it on your helmet or the guides to get some great video.

Thank sandyjeanfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbye M, Owner at Rolling Thunder River Company, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Sandy, September is a great month to go rafting with us as you found out. Glad you enjoyed your Ocoee River trip with us.-Bobbye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rafting trip"
in 32 reviews
"guide assisted"
in 13 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 28 reviews
"awesome pictures"
in 3 reviews
"first timers"
in 10 reviews
"great trip"
in 14 reviews
"other companies"
in 9 reviews
"awesome adventure"
in 5 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 3 reviews
"blue ridge"
in 3 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 10 reviews
"guided raft"
in 4 reviews
"class rapids"
in 6 reviews
"cold water"
in 5 reviews
"the entire staff"
in 4 reviews
"an absolute blast"
in 4 reviews
"can't wait to go again"
in 3 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2018

Was a little weary since not as big as the other guys....but we had a blast! Thanks to our guide (Cilla) and everyone at Rolling Thunder from start to finish, everyone had fun and we felt safe and appreciated the entire trip. They even have a back cabin to change after the trip which was perfect before heading back in the car. Take your family here for memories not soon to be forgotten

Thank Alexander E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbye M, Owner at Rolling Thunder River Company, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Alexander, you're very welcome. Glad you enjoyed your trip!-Bobbye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Thank you once again for a great time y’all always make our trips special! Our guide Thomas was very knowledgeable and fun, we loved all his dad jokes! Can’t wait to do it again next year!

Thank mhagan38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Our group of six had an excellent time! The rafting itself was wonderful, but the experience was unbeatable thanks to our knowledgeable, skilled and very funny guide, LeuJean. If you're going to pay for a guide, it should be worth the extra price - thanks to him it was!

Thank hplyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbye M, Owner at Rolling Thunder River Company, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

The right guide does make a difference as you found out. Ours are great and LouJohn is excellent. Glad you had a great time. Thanks for choosing Thunder!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

We had an awesome guide, Thomas.
With two Moms and three kids he was the perfect combo of one liner jokes (my kids still think the squirrels have their own zip line park) and still entertained the Moms!

Thanks Thomas for a great day! We hope to see you when we come back next year.

And thanks to the rest of the staff for making the bus rides and the trip a lot for fun for all.

Tiffany, Shannon, Cole, Sam, AR, and Jay!

Thank tiffanymarlene80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbye M, Owner at Rolling Thunder River Company, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

We're still giggling over the kids picturing a zip line for squirrels. Bet they'll be talking about that one for a long time :) Glad you and the kids had a great time with us. Thanks for choosing Thunder!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rolling Thunder River Company also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Rolling Thunder River Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing